Midi mapping for Traktor - a very general discussion
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default Midi mapping for Traktor - a very general discussion

Hello all,

I'm a complete beginner to Traktor, so I thought I would make a threat to talk about midi mapping and Traktor for those of us out there that have questions.

As a DJ, my DVS currently is Serato. I decided I'm going to switch over to Traktor, because from the look of things, it can do everything Serato can do, with more capabilities. I guess now with the bridge out, it levels the playing field is many ways, but I produce with Ableton and don't think I would feel comfortable to DJ with it.

I've never done midi mappings before, except for my Dicer with Serato, but the functions on Serato are very simple. I'm quite used to coding, and at work, I write macros for Excel (called Visual Basics for Excel).

I recently downloaded the midi fighter mapping for Traktor, and have been enjoying playing around on it, but some things don't seem to be working right, and I would just like to know what's going on in the background so I can get an understanding of what is actually going on.

What I'd like to do is to take functions from my favourite pieces of gear out there, and apply it to a custom midi fighter mapping. So how could I go about doing this? Where do I start when creating a mapping? Any chance one of the Mod can take us through the mappings for the midi fighter that can downloaded from the site?

Thanks in advance

-PL>Y

Tech Mentor

Sorry, but I have to bump this one up.

Mods, if your reading, there seems to be a need for a bit of an in depth discussion on Midi mapping. From the DJTT tutorial videos on how to set up Traktor and midi map, the only thing Ean touches on is that Midi mapping is "tedious and time consuming" and therefore, it's a lot easier to just download the TSI file and plug and play.