School Dance $$$ Dilemma
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default School Dance $$$ Dilemma

Hello All,
    I've picked up Djing about a year and a half ago just for the mere fact that I always wanted to learn how. I work at a high school and about a year ago, I was told they were going to have a dance, but they were only going to put on an Ipod. So being that I had been practicing for a few months, I told them I'd do it. It went great. Kids had a blast. a year and 4 dances later, I'm coming to the realization that as much as I'm putting into this, I'm not getting back in return ($$$). They're paying me my hourly rate for 3/4 hours to Dj, but that only comes out to about $50 for the night. Now I wasn't tripping that much before, because I used to use equipment the school had, (PA system, etc.) but now that times are getting tougher and I'm buying the music, have my own equipment, taking the time to practice, etc. I'm thinking I need to start getting paid right.

Now I feel bad, because these dances are to raise money for scholarships and what not, but like Tupac said, "I gotta get paid". The question is how much do I charge? I was thinking $100 cash that night, plus my hourly rate. Other people I've asked say $200 for the night. What are your suggestions? Thank you in advance.

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

That's tough cause it seems the dances are for a charity event, but if your bringing more people because you're there then you may deserve to get paid. Another thought would be that this is good practice and you would probably be buying that music anyway. Any chance this might lead to other gigs?
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

I have had a few kids ask me about djing for parties they're families are throwing, but nothing official. It did lead to me landing prom in June 2011. So that's a plus.