Some thoughts and questions about digital dj-ing
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Some thoughts and questions about digital dj-ing

I've been dj-ing with vinyl for +10 years now.
    As I'm spinning more and more in small bars instead of parties, I'm getting kinda bored dragging crates of vinyl around everytime and being constrained to my vinyl collection. I love the medium but it's a bit overkill in those places. Not to mention all the great music that's nearly impossible to find on vinyl.

So I decided to take my first steps into the digital route.
    Finding a suitable dj controller has been harder that I thought it would be. Most come with build in soundcards, which I don't need (I have a very good soundcard already with lots of I/O).. What I do need is very simple: a long pitch fader comparable to that what you find on an SL-1200, a cuewheel to position in the track and some extra controls so that I don't have to use a mouse.
    This is more problematic than I expected.. Most controllers have very small faders. Others don't even have them and use inc/dec buttons. It's crazy: does the software do all the "hard work"?
    I also don't care about having 100 buttons on the thing. I just wanna spin music, beatmatch every now and then. I don't see why I should be playing with loops, fx, samples or whatnot...
    I've been checking all sorts of websites and brochures the past week, reading on this forum too..
    The only DJ controller that seemed to fit my wishes perfectly was the EKS XP5.. It has a long alps pitch fader, big cuewheel, minimum control surface, small footprint,.. The only drawback is the built in soundcard: I don't need it.

Another problem is that most units have a "mixer" section.. I prefer an analogue mixer over a digital midi controller anytime. The places I dj are equipped with Rodec mixers. I love mixing on them. I really don't want to use a digital control to mix.