Hooking up monitors to the new S4
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Default Hooking up monitors to the new S4

    So I'm trying to get away with purchasing my home rig as cheap as possible and I really want to use monitors for my speakers rather than buying a reciever and bookshelf speakers because that appears to be a cheaper way to go. My question is can I plug powered monitors directly off of the S4, I've looked at some of the pictures and I think I could but I'm not sure. Could someone that knows more about the whole deal let me know, thanks

  2. #2
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,020

    Default

    Yeah, out of either the 1/4" Jacks or the RCAs. Both are live.
    Straight to you monitors , no mixer needed.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    47

    Default

    id like to thank whoever put there foot down about balanced outs, major selling point that gets over looked

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    Does that mean you can use the RCA and balanced outs as a master and monitor at the same time?
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,020

    Default

    Yes but they are not independent so they both output the same level.
    You would need to control the volume of the booth on the actual monitor or get an inline volume control like this one that im getting (there are others):

    http://www.tcelectronic.com/levelpilot.asp

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Yes but they are not independent so they both output the same level.
    You would need to control the volume of the booth on the actual monitor or get an inline volume control like this one that im getting (there are others):

    http://www.tcelectronic.com/levelpilot.asp
    How does that work? Is there a separate monitor out on the S4?
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  7. #7
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    There's two outs on the S4, but you can't control their volume independently. You either have to have a volume control on your monitor speakers or put the Level Pilot between the S4 and the monitor speakers.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    There's two outs on the S4, but you can't control their volume independently. You either have to have a volume control on your monitor speakers or put the Level Pilot between the S4 and the monitor speakers.
    Ah right, I thought that's how it would work.
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,020

    Default

    You would need XLR to RCA convertors for one end of the cable.

    If you want a ghetto solution for a fraction of the cost you can use one of these which is used for fading Car stereo systems from front to back. Just connect one side.

    It works, ive used one.

    http://cpc.farnell.com/carpower/rff-...-bb45-00001003

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •