traktor drumroll effect puildup question (loops)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default traktor drumroll effect puildup question (loops)

    So i noticed this problem at a gig last night.

    Every now and then I loop the trac that has been playing while i start another.

    gradually as the second song is getting closer to dropping i half the loop on the first track.

    you all know the deal

    the problem is when i get to like 1 or 1/2 (i think), the track coming in jumps half a beat or so.

    Any thoughts on how to fix this?

    I have another gig tonight and want to get it fixed

    I have snap on and quantsize off btw

    thanks!
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  2. #2
    Tech Guru space monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    1,177

    Default

    Snap and quantize are for cue, loops (in/out) and efx respectively. Sync is what is getting muckered up when you get to sub beat loop lengths. I had the same issue when droppiung down from 1 to 1/2 beat loop lengths--thought that Traktor was supposed to turn sync off automatically but since your incoming track is not master then IDK...

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default

    so, i sync the tracks and make the incoming one the master?
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eindhoven, Netherlands
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Yes, this can be annoying. Either set the new track as master or temporarily disable sync on the new track.

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I've seen master jump back to the track that's ben playing the longest. So disable sync on the track your bringing in at the same time you hit it to go to 1/2 and you should be good.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default

    switched the master to the incoming track, no problems

    thanks guys!
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  7. #7
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Are both tracks Gridded?

    Sync wont stay on and Loops will break sync if the are not gridded.
    Non integer loops smaller that 1/2 beat can also break sync and will do if there is not grid.

    Also Quantise is vital for synced loop rolls.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru space monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    1,177

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post

    Also Quantise is vital for synced loop rolls.
    Yeah, that's right...unless your have Niel Peart timing. nevertheless i get beat jumps on sub-beat loop lengths on gridded and locked tracks

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor PartyMcFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    455

    Default

    As a personal rule of thumb, I keep my sync button mapped as a trigger and not a toggle. Decks in Traktor generally do a good job of staying in time after being beatmatched just once. I've never seen a need to have them constantly locked in sync every second of playback, except under certain performance conditions. It brought in issues with effects, loops, and like your case, loop rolls.

    Point is, you don't have to muck around with master deck settings, just unsync the deck. The tracks will stay together, I promise. Try it out.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PartyMcFly View Post
    As a personal rule of thumb, I keep my sync button mapped as a trigger and not a toggle. Decks in Traktor generally do a good job of staying in time after being beatmatched just once. I've never seen a need to have them constantly locked in sync every second of playback, except under certain performance conditions. It brought in issues with effects, loops, and like your case, loop rolls.

    Point is, you don't have to muck around with master deck settings, just unsync the deck. The tracks will stay together, I promise. Try it out.
    +1

    got the idea from the old traktor 3 mappings

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •