Why is the Audio 8 DJ so processor intensive?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default Why is the Audio 8 DJ so processor intensive?

    Hi,

    I recently bought the A8DJ soundcard, replacing a 3 year old M-Audio Firewire Audiophile.
    Although the sound of the A8 seems cleaner and punchier than the Audiophile, there are some questions that come into my mind.

    Using the >Firewire, my settings were
    -Latency 2ms
    -CPU Meter: no more than 1/4 (ocassionally)

    Now with the A8,
    - Latency 5.5 ms
    - CPU meter: between 1/4 and 1/2, closer to 1/4

    Why is this card so processor intensive? Will these latency settings affect my performance?

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    395

    Default

    I really doubt you'll notice.

  3. #3
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    I havent had any problems with the processor spiking or going ape shit with my rig. What do you have hooked up to your usb ports? A8 + VCI...anything else? Do you have ur bluetooth & wifi turned off while playing?
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    62

    Default

    I only have hooked a VCI 100, a Firewire 800 HD, Wifi and BT turned off.. that's it.
    MacBook Pro late 2009 3.06ghz, 4GB RAM, 500gb HD @ 7200 RPM, Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 6, VCI 100, Audio 8 DJ

  5. #5
    Tech Guru B33SON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jgcamil View Post
    I only have hooked a VCI 100, a Firewire 800 HD, Wifi and BT turned off.. that's it.
    I have processor spikes too... but that happens whether or not my Audio 8 DJ is plugged in.
    Myspace: B33SON
    Myspace: B33 Events
    Facebook: B33SONB33
    YouTube: Mix Competition

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    395

    Default

    I remember reading that USB itself is more processor intensive than Firewire, perhaps there is some truth to that.

    Regardless, I wouldn't worry about it at all.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    ei guys i sow the other day a guy using the behriger3000 , does any one know if that thing haves an internal soundcard?

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Hmm I have a pretty quick computer, so I dont know if this counts. My audio 8 doesnt hog the processor at all. Try reinstalling the drivers and see that resolves the issue.
    Thank Ya!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •