MIDI Fighter resistors? + faders?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default MIDI Fighter resistors? + faders?

I've had a MIDI-fighter mod project on hold for a while but I'm hoping to get on it in the next few weeks. Reading through the stuff here, it seems that to add faders or other controls, I will have to use resistors. But there's a comment here http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...light=resistor that there are already resistors on the board that just have to be enabled in the firmware. Is there a new firmware that supports them yet or should I plan to add resistors myself? I'm a rank amateur when it comes to electronic projects; took some classes decades ago but I haven't held a soldering iron since...

Also, I plan to add some kind of scratch fader to the kit. I was planning to use an Innofader but I decided to hold off on spending that kind of money for now in case I screw everything up. I found the Infinium optical faders from Behringer for less than half the price. Is that the cheapest scratch fader I can find, and will that work in a midifighter mod?

Finally, I'm hoping to make this wireless. Anyone have suggestions on a wireless USB adapter that could easily be plugged into the modified midifighter? Not sure where to start on this.

Thanks!

Essentially, the next firmware update will remove the need for resistors on the digital inputs, plus a host of new MIDI features. Documentation explicitly demonstrating what you need to do to add switches to the expansion ports will accompany the update. Th code is already being used successfully on the Ean Golden custom controllers.

Yes, I've been promising this for a while but things are moving a lot more quickly on the firmware front recently. Long story, but a significant update is coming.
    Last edited by Fatlimey; 10-22-2010 at 01:06 PM.

Thanks for the news! I'll hold off for a little while longer then, sounds like it will be worth it.