had my first major gig last night - touch osc / smartmixer review
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default had my first major gig last night - touch osc / smartmixer review

dear djtt folks,

i recently got a new setup; a custom 2-deck traktor layout for touch osc on the ipad + the bentosan smart mixer routing into ableton as described in the djtt articles running under mac osx. last night i had the chance to test the new setup at what for me was the biggest gig so far.

twice a year theres a pretty big party going on in the social-studies building of the university in hamburg, germany. i know alot of people there due to the fact that i started studying politics last year. it's hard to estimate numbers but we had 4 floors this time.

- 2 rooms, one playing rock, other one going pop/trash
    - a larger room playing reggae/hiphop/urban
    - the main floor featuring electronic music in a huge room fitting several hundred people and the bar. this is where i played.

after an opening set (old school breaks) at 11:30 and the peak time set (electro/techno) between 0:30 to 2:30 by 2 fellow students of mine, i bombed the place for 2,5 hours with urban electro and breaks and some dubstep and drum n bass tracks towards the end.

i was amazed that when i got there at around 1:00, it wasn't even easy to get to the floor or even in the building due to the huge crowds there. luckily the doormen let me pass the crowd at the entrance which made things easier. the peak time set was running, the room was packed and the vibes all good. perfect conditions.