S4 and Windows-> CPU spikes!
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    861

    Default S4 and Windows-> CPU spikes!

    Alright I am having some massive CPU spikes with my S4 running on a HP DV6700 with Vista Home Premium. I want to know from Windows people what Computer/ OS they are using and any alterations to their system they did to control CPU spikes! I ran gamebooster and have a striped down user accout running only basic services.

    I read that it could be due to the type of graphics card. I have not had any issues running traktor Pro and an audiofire2, or audio 2 dj which leads me to believe that it is something new with the S4 drivers which was not a problem before.
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    861

    Default

    bump
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4

    Default

    hey i would get random cpu spikes also here is how i fixed it

    I use windows 7 so i would run it in basic mode
    **make sure the laptop is fully charged**
    disable all internet.

    I noticed when the laptop is charging it will cause cpu spikes.

    Hope this helps, works for me, no cpu spikes or audio dropouts.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor souldancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Curacao
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Don't have my s4 in yet and i have a sony vaio intel core 2 duo 2.2 ghz. But when i start spinning with my 3700's and virtualdj i had a lot of freezes and dropouts. When i put a clean install and upgraded from home to ultimate edition 64 bit it was fine.

    And of course tuned my pc.

    Well when my s4 arrives i'll tell you my findings.

    Thomas

  6. #6

    Default

    you get the spikes sorted out ???
    if so... HOW ???

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NL, Canada
    Posts
    861

    Default

    I did..for the most part heres what I do.

    I had this previously done but I made a seperate user account and made it do all basic services. I did this somehow with my vista machine through the control pannel, dont remebr how. Turned my Antivirus off, turned off wifi, downloaded Gamebooster and run it whenever I run the S4 software. I make sure my battery is fully loaded and on high performance before I swtich to gaming mode in game booster I find it helps with the spikes. If possible open the software with the S4 and let it run for awhile. I find spikes decrease over time. After all of this I go to device manager disaple all the servies associated with my battery.

    Now I have yet to hear pops. But I still get slow loading of tracks into decks. I try to be careful...but this dissapates over time also.
    Traktor Scratch Pro, Ableton Live 8, MacBook Pro 13'', Traktor Kontrol S4, Traktor Kontrol X1, , Midifighter, NI Audio 6 DJ, HDJ-2000 Headphones, UDG Producer Bag.
    Original Productions: https://soundcloud.com/alligator
    My Duo Productions: https://soundcloud.com/rockafellers
    Facebook Fanpage -->http://www.facebook.com/djalligator123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •