Times are a changing ..
    Tech Wizard

Default Times are a changing ..

Hello,
    So for the last 4 years of my life Ive Been Djing in DE, where I go to school. I am no big name DJ, but certainly known in the area I'm from. I am a resident at one of the popular College Bars and pull hundreds of party goers on thirsty Thursday and Saturday nights. But come May that is all going to change when i graduate and head back home to NJ. Unfortunately there is no option of staying in DE.

Any DJ who as worked at a club and bar knows this feeling, Showing up before the gig, you walk in the back, You head up to the booth, look at the damage the other Guest dj's have done. Look around for the mic, of course the batteries are dead, or missing. Get your self all set up, throw up on that warm up mix for a sound check. Time to take a walk and find the head bar tended, shoot the shit with him, maybe grab a drink. Now its about 10ish, people start heading in, a line is forming and your getting pumped for your set. you swing by the door say whats up to your friendly bouncer and head back up to your throne of musical supremacy.

Well that's all about to change for me, i have to move back to NJ were I don't know a person, a club owner, a promoter.

I feel like the days of being a talented DJ that can mix, read and make a crowd move just doesn't cut it, no more can you just walk in to a Club hand out a mix, and expect the owner/ promoter to actually listen to it. you'll be lucky if they use it as an ash tray.

What i am really after here is advice from people who had to switch markets, and completely start over in a new area, new clubs, new clicks, new competition... any advice would be great.
    13''Macbook Pro-SL3-DJM707-SL1210M5G's-Dicer
    www.soundcloud.com/djbrianza

Tech Mentor

What did you do to originally get your slot as a resident in this club?