Overall volume dropping when using the FXs.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Guru ponyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, home of the Pony.
    Posts
    509

    Default Overall volume dropping when using the FXs.

    I have done a bit of a search, but generally I'm useless, so never found a thing, new to FX, using an X1, when I use the FX I get an overall drop in the volume on that channel, as if I have dropped the level ocross all EQs, etc. Is this normal? Cos it makes things sound a bit sh*t.

    Doesn't happen with all FX, I am only just getting into them, but it happens enough to be annoying and screw up what might have been a decent effect.

    FX - I'm doing it wrong.

    /n00b.

    Tony the Pony.
    My soundcloud page. House, mainly.

    Mixcloud & Website coming soon.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Ross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    1,155

    Default

    Is the effect on full volume itself?
    Pioneer DJM 700 / Traktor Kontrol X1 / 2 x Technics SL1200MK5 / Traktor Scratch Pro 2.6.7 / Ortofon Concorde Nightclub MK1
    Audio 8 DJ / Sennheiser HD 25-1 II / Magma Traveler / IsoAcoustics ISO-L8R155 / KRK RP6 G2 / Vinyl

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    where is the wet and dry level?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    380

    Default

    its manual time

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor djsakebomb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    243

    Default

    Add a compressor after the effect and map it to increase volume with the wet/dry of the effect.

    Wait, that's in Ableton, nevermind :P
    The enemy's gate is DOWN.

    MacBook Pro | 2.16 Ghz C2D | 120 GB HDD | 3 GB RAM | 250 GB EX HDD
    Mac Pro | 2x2.88 Ghz Quad-Core | 320 GB HDD | 6 GB RAM | 1 TB EX HDD
    Ableton Suite | Akai APC 80 | Torq Xponent

  6. #6

    Default

    What fx does it happen with?
    Dancing to good music should be like having sex with the air.

    Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/dj-jarvis

  7. #7
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    it's normal, you need to familiarize with what each fx does and you will understand why it happens

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Coast, United States
    Posts
    631

    Default

    When you insert an effect into a channel in Traktor it's kind of like saying you have two sound sources going through the same pipe, as opposed to just one (the track with the effect off). The single pipe has a set amount of gain, so if your wet/dry control is something other than full on, both the effect and the track have to get reduced in volume so both "fit" through the pipe. If your wet/dry is all the way up, all you hear is the effected signal, so you don't get that volume reduction perception.

    Some effects sound best with the wet/dry at max. Ex. beatslicer, masher, reverse grain. Others sound good with wet dry partially up - delays, phasers, flangers. But there's no hard and fast rules. It's good to know the effects well, and what they do at different settings, so you can dial it in quickly. Also, effect snapshots are your friend.
    MacBook 2.4GHz, 6GB, Traktor Pro, Ableton Live, Bomes MT, Audio Kontrol 1, Vestax VCI-100 SE Custom, M-Audio Axiom 25, Akai APC40, NI Maschine, 2x Midi Fighters (c/o DJ TechTools - Thanks!!)

    Mixcloud DJ Sets

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •