About to purchase S4 - Monitor and Laptop Advice!
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default About to purchase S4 - Monitor and Laptop Advice!

After much thought and reading the reviews here on the forum I have decided to take the plunge and purchase an S4.

I will need some speakers so have decided on purchasing some rokit krk5 monitors. They are not cheap at £125 each but I've heard them live and they sounded amazing.

I now need a laptop to run Traktor and also my sample library (external hard disk). Now it HAS TO BE PC and will be used only for music and playing Traktor as I have 3 desktops for everything. What do I need to look out for when purchasing the laptop in terms of sound card and spec? I know the minimum spec required but what would be a solid spec to ensure no problems, crashes, freezing and audio drop outs.

I'm a total novice to Traktor (having only used CDJsDJMEFX and some ableton ) so advice would be great.

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

Why does it have to be a PC? Might have a look at this thread, you'll still need to prep it for running Traktor though.

http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...d.php?t=122347
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Tech Wizard

Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    Why does it have to be a PC? Might have a look at this thread, you'll still need to prep it for running Traktor though.

http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...d.php?t=122347
    All my desktops and workstations are pc based, I never used macs and to be honest I want the flexibility of having a PC laptop if I fancy installing Ableton, VSTS etc.

Thanks

Tech Wizard

Plus macs more expensive.

I got an Asus with 17" screen - there are quite a lot of things going on in the S4 software so I'd never go for a smaller one. I had a lot of problems with dropouts, but after disabling all network adapters it works like a charm.

AMD Athlon II M340 2.2GHz
    4GB DDR2 800MHz