Help!!!!!!!!!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help!!!!!!!!!

  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default Help!!!!!!!!!

    Hey guys, need help! just starting out getting my gear together, so I have a few questions.....

    -can i run the efx-1000 through the apc 40 while using the apc 40 as a controller for traktor pro?

    or

    -do I need a seperate mixer and if so, can I use the Traktor S4 controller?

    CHEERS

  2. #2
    Tech Guru space monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    1,177

    Default

    No. If I remember efx1000 does not have any midi through only audio signal. Conversely the APC40 does not handle audio signal so using the EFX "through" the APC is not physically possible.
    You can use the efx with an s4 but getting the individual channels to/from the efx will cause slight latency issues with the signal and you get a noticeable loss of sound with a phase effect. Or you could run the master through the efx but any fx would affect all channels (it is the mastoer out).

    The efx doesn't really work well with any mixer other than pioneers in my experience. Getting a proper sound with send/return from the likes of say, A&H to work well with the EFX is not worth the effort
    Last edited by space monkey; 12-08-2010 at 07:36 PM.

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    OK thanks mate.

    so, lets say i have traktor pro with the apc 40 as controller, could I get the full use of all the ableton fx while i'm mixing or what would u recommend?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru space monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    back home
    Posts
    1,177

    Default

    I'd recommend using TPs built in FX and call it a day. Unless you have some highly tuned custom fx in Abelton then you could route audio via software with soundflower (ithink it's called that) et al.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    380

    Default

    if your used to the efx though the traktor efx dont cut it.1 bar delay instead of 2 no pitch echothere is a pitch but its not that good imo) not as many1/8 1/4 1/2 parameters.

    (i don't want to hear anyone saying that it can be done because i,ve spent a fair bit of time to replicate these functions because members told me it was possible,so if you are going to argue the point post your t.s.i's to prove me wrong.)

    there are some good efx and uses but you have to think differently than the efx1000

  6. #6
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    switzerland
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calvin01 View Post
    if your used to the efx though the traktor efx dont cut it.1 bar delay instead of 2 no pitch echothere is a pitch but its not that good imo) not as many1/8 1/4 1/2 parameters.

    (i don't want to hear anyone saying that it can be done because i,ve spent a fair bit of time to replicate these functions because members told me it was possible,so if you are going to argue the point post your t.s.i's to prove me wrong.)

    there are some good efx and uses but you have to think differently than the efx1000
    ok, so what set up (not overly expensive) would u recommend if i want to use the efx-1000 and traktor pro?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •