Novice DJ: I need some advice!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18

    Default Novice DJ: I need some advice!

    Hi, I'm new to this forum to first and foremost WATTUP ERRYBODY!!
    I'm a producer at heart (I'm new to djing w.o a comp) but I've been using Traktor to add a little live spice to my tracks for the last couple months but I just bought brand spankin new Stanton turntables and I was wondering how I connect my analog mixer to Serato. I have timecoded vinyl already and I'm guessing I need some sort of interface? Also I'm getting the novation dicer to make live remixing and looping easier. But does anyone have any tips? Do I need to buy new RCA cable? Do I need to get an interface? And if so any recomendations?

    Cy Kosis

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    What mixer? You need an SL1 or SL3 if I'm not mistaken, but I know more about Traktor.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18

    Default

    It's a simple Stanton SMX-201 mixer. And I think I have SL 2.1.1...

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    Dont know much about serato, But you will need to buy the SL1 or SL3 soundcard or the Rane TTM57-SL mixer to be able to activate DVS (your timecode vinyls)
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    But if you already have traktor then why are you jumping to serato? if your only going to be using the two TT's youll only need an NI audio 4 interface if your likely to use 4 decks then i would buy the Audio 8 interface. These are for Traktor remember.
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I have no program prejudice and I was interested in Serato just because so many people use it, I figured there must be something there. Also I'm not spending 1500 on a mixer lol, but I could definitely get the NI audio 4. I would be able to play my mp3s no matter what vinlys are on my TT's?

    Cy Kosis

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Can someone answer me!? I don't know if the audio 4 plays turntables or mp3s within Traktor. And I also need to know if i need special timecoded vinyl to be able to scratch/beatmatch mp3s in traktor. I'm new to this so sorry if its a stupid question but I'm a rookie!

  8. #8
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    audio 4 is a sound interface to be used with traktor
    you need 2 traktor timecode vinyl then you can scratch,play etc... you mp3s using the timecode on your TT's

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    You cannot just buy the timecode and control traktor or serato for that matter.
    Dude you really need to read the Product pages for the respective products as your missing some vital information. There is a lot more to it I'm afraid.

    Reading is good for you:-)

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Hahahaha yeh I usually just pull everything out and get to work without reading anything lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •