Question on Sond card (Audio2) with KRK monitors
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default Question on Sond card (Audio2) with KRK monitors

    As some of you know, I purchased a pair of KRK monitors when they are on sale. I did this on a "buy first (on insane deal), ask later" moment.

    Now they should arrive tomorrow.

    Question: How do I hook these up if I have an audio 2 (I have a splitter to make the master out into 2 TRS outs)?

    Would i need to upgrade to the Audio 4 for easier use?

    Your thoughts?

    Thanks!
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Audio 4 is marginally simpler as you can get two mono RCA cables and be done. Still not worth the upgrade imo.

    While the Audio 2 ships with phone plug to stereo RCA cables, these are probably unusable/too short (I'm saying probably since I don't own an Audio 2). I would get a real short 1/4" phone plug (male) to stereo RCA (female) adapter and then two mono RCA cables (male-to-male). If you need the lowest price, I suggest ordering these cables from monoprice.com.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    right channel to right speaker
    left channel to left speaker

    if they have a TRS input then use a single RCA cable coming out of your Audio 2 and buy an RCA to TRS adapter. No splitter needed.

    Easy as pie.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haze324 View Post
    right channel to right speaker
    left channel to left speaker
    rly?

    if they have a TRS input then use a single RCA cable coming out of your Audio 2 and buy an RCA to TRS adapter. No splitter needed.
    Most KRK speakers have separate RCA (unbalanced) and TRS (balanced) inputs. The Audio 2 outputs an unbalanced line-level signal. Hence one should use the unbalanced input of the KRKs to hook up the Audio 2. That's why I like my suggestion better than yours. DJTT's featured a related article some time ago.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    i think you advised him to use a 1/4 inch plug to RCA.

    1 mono RCA into a RCA to TRS adapter into each speaker.

    I'm pretty sure I said the same thing.

    I really think splitting hairs on small system makes too little of a difference in sound quality.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haze324 View Post
    i think you advised him to use a 1/4 inch plug to RCA.

    1 mono RCA into a RCA to TRS adapter into each speaker.

    I'm pretty sure I said the same thing.
    No, you advised him to use the TRS inputs on the speakers. I advised him to use the RCA inputs on the speakers.

    My suggestion amounts to going from unbalanced output --> unbalanced input. Your suggestion amounts to going from unbalanced output --> balanced input.

    It is different.

    I recommend this article and that article on DJTT.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default

    Soooooooooooo just to clarify The outs are TRS unbalanced.

    Question though.

    I originally got the splitter to let me broadcast on ustream (1 would go to my speaker (makie TH 15) and the other would go to my audio-in on my mac) however, i still needed to set my output on traktor to mono so it wouldnt sound like hell breaking loose....even though it was split....

    your thoughts?

    also. Is there a way to manually set my audio 2 to mono/stereo if i want to use it with ableton (thereby letting me use the monitors for ableton)?
    Last edited by GPS; 12-17-2010 at 04:13 PM.
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
    Soooooooooooo just to clarify The outs are TRS unbalanced.
    The Audio2 outputs are not TRS in the typical meaning of that term. TRS is used to refer to a balanced connection on a 1/4" jack using the Tip, Ring, and Sleeve.

    The Audio2 outputs are 1/4" phone plug stereo.

    Get one of these adapters: http://goo.gl/714mQ

    And the appropriate length RCA cable: http://goo.gl/dot17
    Get one labeled "premium". These are made with shielded coax. They are bonded together but you can easily pull the two cables apart to run one to each speaker.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gainesville/Miami Florida
    Posts
    953

    Default

    i got the issue resolved a few hours ago. picked up a trs to 2 mono (black/tip and red/ring) along with some trs to trs to connect to the krks

    SOOOO BEAUTIFUL!!!!
    GPS of Fresh Wet Paint | "Always Fresh n' Sticky"
    DJEditorHugger

    Fresh Wet Paint: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Site
    GPS: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Did you get your KRK's already? Nice. I'm hoping they don't screw up my order.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •