Syncing Traktor Pro to Ableton 8
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard gavgrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    33

    Default Syncing Traktor Pro to Ableton 8

    Hi Guys,

    I know this has been discussed before, but i would like to try it out since I use both programs and own both a VCI100SE and an APC40.

    I downloaded Midi Yoke, but its a bit over my head to be honest...

    anyone know the best straight forward way? I'm on the 1 PC.

    Thanks
    G.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    a straight answer is there aint away.

    i have been trying on the pc for the past year and have tryed everything from virtual midi cables,midi boxes,midi over lan you name it i tryed it.

    its to do with live 8 it has awful midi clock and just wont stay in sync
    this will be fixed no doubt in live 9 (witch should be annoucned at namm in jan)

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Is the following not possible?

    Go to Traktor's preferences.

    Tell it to send a midi clock.

    Then go to the midi clock panel and set the clock to int

    Hit play to make sure you are sending a clock

    Go to Traktor's preferences again and go to controller manager. Make a new controller profile and call it something easy to remember like clock.

    As an output set it to Traktor's virtual midi output

    Go to Live

    Go to preferences

    Click on midi sync settings

    Have it listen and react to Traktor virtual output

    Verify on the main live window that the little box in the corner is flashing to ensure that it is 'hearing' traktor's clock

    Click the button marked 'EXT' in live's main window live is now receiving midi clock data from traktor

    You will then need to go back into live's midi sync preferences and mess with the offset to make sure the two are in sync.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    Live just wont hold a steady clock thats the problem,it drfits so much you end up trying to get it back in sing every 30 seconds as it slightly goes off beat.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    but it will drift...thats midi for you.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Have you used the metronomes in both applications to get them sync'd using the midi sync offset settings in live?

    Then I will also say that you CANNOT effectively use traktor and ableton midi sync in any mode except traktor in internal master clock mode. Using timecode is totally out of the question and any mode except locking the master tempo to traktor's internal master clock is a recipe for disaster.

    With a totally locked master clock in traktor I have had no problem keeping the two applications sync'd for hours on end.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard gavgrant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    33

    Default

    yeah, but "Traktor's virtual output" is not in the drop down menu......??!!

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Hur?

    In the following screenshots, do you have these options? If not, what version of Traktor are you running?

    http://img843.imageshack.us/i/picture8jt.png

    http://img709.imageshack.us/i/picture9mm.png

    http://img43.imageshack.us/i/picture10yrk.png

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    ^^^^MAC ONLY^^^^

    @dirkd MAC ONLY

    you get the idea macs pwn!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •