[OT] Stop me from smashing my TV.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    588

    Default [OT] Stop me from smashing my TV.

    Ok, i have an Alba 16inch LCD Tv+Dvd+Freeview HD combo.

    Model: LCDW16HDF

    I wanted to watch a film, and for some reason the colours were completely saturated and fucked up. Like a negative effect on photoshop, everything is the wrong colours and indistinguishable and super contrasted.

    So i fiddled with settings, still couldn't do it. So i decided to watch film on my laptop.

    NOW THE WHOLE FUCKING TV IS LIKE THIS

    My channels, the dvd player - even analogue channels.

    I've re-installed several times, wiped and reset settings, pressed every button on the whole POS remote.

    Any advice? It can't be a hardware problem surely, since it literally hasn't been touched apart from putting a DVD in. (It's not the DVD, the quality is perfect on my Macbook).

  2. #2
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    go to the tv's menu/settings and go to color or picture or whatever

    im sure you tried this already though :/

    oh! unplug the tv and plug it in again a few minutes later, that might make it do a reset to factory settings type thing
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    588

    Default

    I tried a quick off/on at the plug and it didn't work.

    But then i inplugged it and left it while i typed this thread/looked for a manual (I'm positive my mrs has thrown the box/manual away >.> ).

    .....and SUCCESS! It just probably needed 10 minutes to adjust to the re-installation or something ridiculous.

    Thanks for your help man


    Now i just need to find the batteries from where i threw the remote across the room

  4. #4
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    no problem. enjoy the tv
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru b3nz0n8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Inside The Vortex, U.S.A
    Posts
    3,771

    Default www.avsforum.com is the DJTT of Audio/Visual Equipment



    www.avsforum.com

    Hands down the best forum for audio/visual equipment....anywhere.

    I spent some time there, under benzonate, a few years back as I was building out my home theater.

    Anytime I need indepth and first hand knowledge....this is the place to find what you need.

    Possibly a firmware update to the tv will correct the issue. Could be backlight issues or a board failure.

    What's the model number and I'll see what I can do to help.

    If you can, pull it directly off the back of the unit and I'll run with it from there.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Bassline Brine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    If you do smash it, take a video. I'd be interested in that.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

  7. #7
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b3nz0n8 View Post


    www.avsforum.com

    Hands down the best forum for audio/visual equipment....anywhere.

    I spent some time there, under benzonate, a few years back as I was building out my home theater.

    Anytime I need indepth and first hand knowledge....this is the place to find what you need.

    Possibly a firmware update to the tv will correct the issue. Could be backlight issues or a board failure.

    What's the model number and I'll see what I can do to help.

    If you can, pull it directly off the back of the unit and I'll run with it from there.
    +1, and they have an iPhone app in case you smash your computer.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    +1, and they have an iPhone app in case you smash your computer.
    I'm waiting for the iPhone app in case you smash your iPhone... Just wait they'll have it. Ha.
    Setup: Studio XPS 1640 | VCI-100 SE | LPD8 | Traktor Pro | KRK Rokit Powered 6 G2 SE (Red)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •