Traktor S4 Addons... Midi Fighter, Kaossilator?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default Traktor S4 Addons... Midi Fighter, Kaossilator?

    Hey everyone... been looking around for some cool beat and sound sampling add on hardware that I can use with my S4. I was wondering... could I run my S4... in theory into a Kaoss Pad 3 and then run that into my sound mixer? Or what can or cannot be done.

    I was also looking at a Kaossilator Pro... which would actually be more of an instrument on its own... would I just run that separately into my mixer and use it as a separate instrument altogether?


    Any advice?

    Thanks everyone!

    Also... just checked out those midi fighters... and they are pretty sick, how would something like that work with the S4. Would I need to wait for a map for the s4 to support it or what.

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Not sure about your first question but the Midi Fighters work with S4 now. You could remap it to take advantage of some of the new S4 features if you want, but the standards mappings already work.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard Kotyara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    UA
    Posts
    31

    Default

    answer is YES

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ok... so now that the initial YES has been answered... lol Say I purchased a Kaoss Pad 3 (http://www.korg.com/product.aspx?pd=269) which for those unfamiliar is basically just an effects add on that alters the sounds of another source... aka anything coming from the S4.

    Would I just run my S4 into the Kaoss Pad 3, then my Kaoss Pad 3 into my mixer... and that's all?

    I know with the Kaoss Pad Pro, Which is actually it's own instrument in itself... I should probably just run it directly into its own channel on my mixer.

    This sounding good? I am really new to the S4, and i don't wanna spend a few hundred bucks if I can't use it

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard Micah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    72

    Default

    You can route the audio directly from the S4 into the KP3 into the mixer, but the effect will cover ALL channels, so you wouldn't be able to do FX on individual decks. HOWEVER, the way I have mine set up, is you can use it as a Midi Controller for Traktor's FX. A slight waste of the KP3's built in effects, but a LOT easier than using those tiny FX buttons on the top.

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Check this out!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nX2J4hW5c-E

    Traktor S4 + An Awesome Minecraft Emulator (Korg-Kaossilator) = ?_?

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Onimode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    579

    Default

    Could the Kaoss Pad 3 be hooked up to the send/return of a mixer? I've never had either, so.. bleh. ._.
    apc40 | ableton | ath-sj33
    deviantART | SoundCloud | facebook
    SKRILLEX IS THE BEST TECHNO DJ EVER!!! (╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻

  8. #8
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Onimode View Post
    Could the Kaoss Pad 3 be hooked up to the send/return of a mixer? I've never had either, so.. bleh. ._.
    yes
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •