How many regularly use Ableton & Traktor together.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    71

    Default How many regularly use Ableton & Traktor together.

    In what ways to you use the two programs together? can you give me an example of how you would use the two in a DJ set and why?

    How do you control both programs?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xzldehIsCE

    this should give you some insight into why and how
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor rhombus_77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    458
    PC | TSP2 | A8 | S4 | X1 | T1200MK2

    Beat Gridding Tutorial

  4. #4

    Default

    couple of different uses i can think of:

    1) master fx unit by routing traktors master output through an ableton fx rack

    2) individual fx rack for each deck in traktor by routing each deck into into own fx rack in ableton.

    3) adding loops, one shots, and other live tracks over your dj mixing in traktor, ala serato's the bridge

    or some combination of these.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    59

    Default

    the timing of this thread is awesome - this is something I've been thinking about for the last few days :-)

    has anyone tried doing this with a 2.16Ghz Core Duo 2gig RAM MBP or similar?

    does anyone know if it's possible to control Traktor and Ableton side by side using a Xone 4d?

    all advice greatfully received :-)

    cheers

    Dave

  6. #6

    Default

    Okay so I followed both of those tutorials and sorta got it working but how would you add effects from Ableton onto a deck of Traktor pro?
    Setup: Kontrol S2, Komplete Audio 6, Maschine Mikro Akai LPD 8, Akai Mpk49, Traktor 2, Ableton Suite 8.
    http://soundcloud.com/miishmash

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Jo3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NW UK
    Posts
    457

    Default

    on a mac use sound flower to send the audio from each traktor deck to its own audio channel in ableton. then use the send and returns in abelton, with fx on the send/return channels.

    iv never used ableton but i assume thats how it works. Traktor set to external mixing then use ableton for eq's and fx's.
    MBPro - UC-33e - Audio 10 - TSP2 - Xone 22 - 1210's - Mackie MR5's

  8. #8

    Default

    Yeap.... unfortunately I'm on a pc.... I've installed Jack Audio as an alternative but I can't select it as an input in the sound preferences in Ableton... anyone have this working and could hekp me out?


    edit: Got it working with virtual audio cable, cept the latency in asio4all is just terrible. Anyone have any links to tutorials to setup asio4all with the lowest latency possible? I've got an audio 2 soundcard as well but it isn't with me at the moment.
    Last edited by misha_val; 12-30-2010 at 07:19 PM.
    Setup: Kontrol S2, Komplete Audio 6, Maschine Mikro Akai LPD 8, Akai Mpk49, Traktor 2, Ableton Suite 8.
    http://soundcloud.com/miishmash

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    416

    Default

    [YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOyhDAEhLkA[/YOUTUBE]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •