DIY Midi-Fighter Project
    Tech Student

Default DIY Midi-Fighter Project

Hi everybody,
    I'm a musical programmation student here in Milan (Italy) and my brother (CionniAsDj in this forum) started me to this site.
    As he uses a VCI-100 we just upgraded the firmwire and put the 8 arcade buttons and now I was thinking about building a DIY Midi-Fighter.
    My first thought was to use a simple gamepad as oskars did and to interface it to a computer program in order to convert the signals into MIDI data but as the program needs to run in the background I wondered about the latency problems that solution may presents, so I thought about using an Arduino board and a MIDItoUSB cable as shown here, because Arduino outputs to the PC are recognized as Serial data.
    This should provide a good solution, but I'm not completely sure about it, so I'm asking for opinions and suggestions.
    I like it because I can potentially use any USB device I want changing the TSI files properly.
    Thank you for the help,
    Alberto.

How are you planning on controlling the LEDs? Also, look at using a teensyduino board for your CPU. It's a bit more raw but much cheaper.
    Last edited by Fatlimey; 12-29-2010 at 12:40 PM.

Tech Student

Quote Originally Posted by Fatlimey View Post
    How are you planning on controlling the LEDs? Also, look at using a teensyduino board for your CPU. It's a buy more raw but much cheaper.
    Still got no solutions for the LEDs, actually. Haven't thought about them at all.

I've just seen this teensy board and it looks quite interesting, even if I was thinking about the arduino because I've got an Arduino Uno still unused (Italian board, no shipping costs, so I got one for 26USD).
    Main question is: Is arduino/teensy really neccessary or the latency using a PC program is low enough to bypass all the external conversion stuff?
    Thank you for your reply, anyway