Why or not buy a Macbook for the traktor s4?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    161

    Default Why or not buy a Macbook for the traktor s4?

    Hi, most of the peeps in here say you should get a macbook (pro) when it comes to dj use, and the traktor s4.

    Just wonder if there is people here that is against this, in that case why?

    Let the fight begin=P

    And one more thing, could someone with the 13" screen upload a screenshot of how the traktor s4 software looks on it??


    Cheers!

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    This question has been asked and answered a million times.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Nicky H's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Leeds UK
    Posts
    2,487

    Default

    Actually a trillion
    SC | MC

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard Kh3MiC4L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    84

    Default

    pc work like a wonder if you like to debug and go deeply tweaks things.
    mac is plug and play and aim for 15" screen (anti-glare if i remember well) and i GREATLY advice to wait.
    Their refreshing their mac book line in january(moslty) or april
    2011 MacBookPro 13" i7
    Traktor Kontrol S4
    Fostex PM0.4 / Sony MDR-7506 / Oxygen 25 v3 / Fast Track Pro / Hs80m /
    I HaZ a BaD EnGliSH

  5. #5
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,531

    Default

    being a mac fanboy, you don't need to buy one to get the s4 working properly.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Then ill wait for the new product line, is this confirmed by apple, or is it still just rumors?

    guess ill have to tweak a little bit until the macbook. i see someone mentioned in other posts you pay lots of extra cause of the brand Apple... Well here in Norway you can say that...

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    714

    Default

    If you spend the same on a decked out pc laptop and compare and compare it to the price of an apple then they will perform the same. The s4 software is optimized for mac right now but there should be major updates coming.

    I would wait for the refresh either way becuz NI will have the update out by then and you may or may not need to spend the extra cash for an adequate computer.

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    161

    Default

    that is what im hoping for, got a Dell precision M6300 17" for schoolwork (3d modelling) and use it with hercules rmx and vjd, but 80% sure about buying the S4 over the next couple of months since i wanna take my dj level a little further.

    could be if there is a new update and it will be better with Win computers ill invest in a a 13" pc instead of an Macbook...

  9. #9
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,611

    Default

    get a linux box and run mixxx

    /thread
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    714

    Default

    If you have a 17" dell that can manage 3d modeling (I'm assuming Catia, UGNX,autodesk etc....) it should handle the s4 software fine, maybe a few tweaks but nothing to go grab a new laptop for.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •