Traktor Pro without jog wheels
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard PIX-1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    51

    Default Traktor Pro without jog wheels

    Not getting any love on this topic in the "Controllers, Mods and Gear Reviews" forum, so I'll see if anyone has any input here.

    Long story short: I'm planning a MIDI control for Traktor using Livid Instrument's Brain. The brain doesn't support encoders (e.g. jog wheels). There are a few functions I use encoder controls for, but scrubbing through a track is the primary use I would miss without access to encoder support.

    Can anyone think of a solid alternative to track scrubbing with jog wheels?
    traktor pro
    numark total control
    numark djio sennheiser hd 205
    toshiba qosmio x505-q885
    windows 7 home premium 64-bit

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Beat jump?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Map some buttons to beatjump 32 or regular scub (auto repeat on)

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard PIX-1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    Beat jump?
    The only way to get any precision out of this is to set an extremely small move value, which means you'd have to press the button about a trillion times to get anywhere.


    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    regular scub (auto repeat on)
    Not following you here. Regular scrub?
    traktor pro
    numark total control
    numark djio sennheiser hd 205
    toshiba qosmio x505-q885
    windows 7 home premium 64-bit

  5. #5
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    skipping +- 16 beats.
    map 2 buttons to do it


    EDIT: i opened this when there were no posts. then i went on youtube.... then posted a while later
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PIX-1138 View Post
    The only way to get any precision out of this is to set an extremely small move value, which means you'd have to press the button about a trillion times to get anywhere.




    Not following you here. Regular scrub?
    Seek Position

    You can also map "Jog Scratch + Tempo Bend" (found in Transport). While Playing they act as regular Bends and when stopped they act like you are moving slowly vinyl.

    Map one button as Inc and another as Dec (activate auto repeat on both). You can use these for fine adjustments and beatjump as coarse

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard PIX-1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    Inc and Dec
    That answered it right there. I wasn't playing around with Interaction Mode.

    Looks like if I'm forced to use buttons, I can.

    Thanks guys.
    traktor pro
    numark total control
    numark djio sennheiser hd 205
    toshiba qosmio x505-q885
    windows 7 home premium 64-bit

  8. #8
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You can also map a button to seek position and set it to min, fine, default, and course. I'm not sure what values each of those have, but beat jump would essential be the same. You would need one that was inc and one dec so you could go forwards and backwards in a song.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard PIX-1138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MO
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    You can also map a button to seek position and set it to min, fine, default, and course. I'm not sure what values each of those have, but beat jump would essential be the same. You would need one that was inc and one dec so you could go forwards and backwards in a song.
    Aye, that's what I tested out, (again, I had been failing to account for the Interaction Mode), and it worked, though I'll need to fine-tune some things to really make it practical (perhaps some slick Modifier implementation).

    The realization that the S4 features are supposed to be integrated into TPro is another hitch, however, as I don't want to complete a controller only to have the software change drastically a week later. I'm currently reading the NI forums trying to find out if there's an ETA for that.

    The more I think about this, the more I wonder if I should just squeeze as much functionality as possible out of my Numark and buy a Midi Fighter.
    traktor pro
    numark total control
    numark djio sennheiser hd 205
    toshiba qosmio x505-q885
    windows 7 home premium 64-bit

  10. #10
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    NI hasn't announced when the features will come to Pro. Are you worried about being able to scrub like this in S4 or just mapping the new stuff like sample decks.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •