Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default New iMAC Ableton Live 8 problem

Specs:

IMac 27 i5 4gb Ram
    Ableton live 8
    Saphire Pro 14 soundcard
    Vestax vcm 600

Ok so i seem to get a pop when my effects racks are activated when I toggle my vcm knob. Previously the effects rack were on all the time but this meant the cpu was working too hard so I mapped the racks only to come on when the value was 1 or above and deactivate when the value was below (0). However when my rack is activated (e.g. beat repeat) there is pop as the effect comes on. This only happens at the point the rack is activated and does not happen again when the rack is being used in different values (beat repeat 1/6 1/32 etc). This happens for all of my effect racks when they are activated.

Why is this? How do i stop it? I am new to owning a mac and ableton, so I'm not sure about things like latency, audio buffers etc some advice would be much appreciated....after shelling out £1600 for a new mac I would like the sound to be 100% glitch pop free.

I hope you can help.

Tech Guru

im guessing you need to adjust either latency or 'look ahead' if you have a compressor in ur rack
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

Tech Wizard

Look Ahead??

How much should I alter the latency by? Is there an actual specific value I should be using?

Quote Originally Posted by Mintaka View Post
    How much should I alter the latency by? Is there an actual specific value I should be using?
    keep going up until the distortion stops.