Echo at different BPM to track
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    7

    Default Echo at different BPM to track

    Hi all,

    using traktor and the DJTT VCI100 is it possible to echo one track into another using the next tracks BPM?

    For example... DECK A is playing a 90BPM track and DECK B is cued up ready and is a 120BPM track, can you sync the echo effect to DECK B but execute it on DECK A and just drop the track on DECK B, creating a seamless but cleverly devised drop and change of tempo?

    Hope this makes sense, I've managed it before on the old pioneer DJM500, just hoping its possible here too.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    if deck b is already playing make it the master.
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    if you have the Master Clock set to Auto, as soon as you stop deck A (if B is playing), the clock's and fx BPM will update to the new track since it is now the Master.

    Ean has a vid where it's shown.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    i love that trick. especially between genres to completely change the mood in the place
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys, in the example I gave - deck B will not be playing at the same time as deck A

    So...

    1. Deck A playing (80bpm)
    2. Deck B cued (paused)
    3. then with either the echo or delay match the effect to deck B at 120bpm
    4. simultaneously apply the effect to deck A, stop/pause deck A, and start deck B

    Padi 04, do you have the link for the vid by any chance please?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    just search the blog or youtube for ean golden echo freeze
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    as you can see in the video, the effects are the same speed as the master deck.

    only thing you can do is, to set the masterclock to the tempo of deck B.

    or -as i said before- let deck B play, set it to master (doesnt have to be audible, volumen faders down or crossfader to the left), apply fx to deck A (with the tempo of deck B). when you want deck B to get into the mix, just give it some volumen and skip to the beginning with some hotcue..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    didnt ean echo up the track in the end of the video (thats normally how i do it, a filter and some extra feedback)? or does the freeze delay really match the tempo of the second track by itself once the first track stops playing (isnt the master deck)?
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

  10. #10
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djnesquigs View Post
    didnt ean echo up the track in the end of the video (thats normally how i do it, a filter and some extra feedback)? or does the freeze delay really match the tempo of the second track by itself once the first track stops playing (isnt the master deck)?
    yeh it does it automatically. Speeds up or slows down quite smoothly to the new tempo.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •