[windows] My S4 Diary: Prepping for and setting up my S4
Page 1 of 15 1234511 ... LastLast

Default Prepping Windows 7 for the Kontrol S4

I thought I would share my experiences as a new “Digital DJ” (I really don’t like that term) who just took delivery of their S4 about 72 hours ago. I used to play on 1210’s years ago but this is my first time with a software based solution. I am however a bit of a geek and work as a product manager for a software company.

All the screenshots I am including can be directly accessed from: [ame="http://www.flickr.com/photos/58365136@N04/sets/72157625704608947/"]s4 screenshots - a set on Flickr[/ame]

The Desktop Wallpaper used in the screenshots was created by DJTT Forum Member DJScottBahn. Many thanks for the cool backdrop and if anyone else wants to get hold of it, please check the thread at: http://djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23128

My [very basic] setup
    • Native Instruments Traktor Kontrol S4
    • Toshiba Satellite M305-S4910 (Purchased Jan 2009) http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/...sp?poid=431241
    • Core™ 2 Duo Processor T6400, 2.0GHz, 2MB L2 Cache, 800MHz FSB
    • 4GB PC6400 DDR2 SDRAM
    • 320GB (5400 RPM); Serial ATA hard disk drive

Prepping for the S4

I did some preparation prior to the S4 arriving. I had read all the issues around performance, popping, crackling and drop outs so I wanted to try and minimize the variables that could affect Traktor. I created a dual boot system with both partitions running Win7 Pro.

I created 2 partitions. The first partition was for general use as I wanted the laptop to be able to pull double duty when I wasn’t using Traktor. The 2nd partition was going to be dedicated to Traktor.

Below you can see how the partitions look post install: