What Kind Of Mac?!?!?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default What Kind Of Mac?!?!?

Hey All,
    I have finally saved up enough money to buy myself a computer!
    I have an 07' macbook and im lookin to update/
    Im just trying to figeure out which mac i should get /
    I am an Up n Comin' Dj (ya i said it) - and i know that there must be some specifications that i will need for running tables n storing a large amount of music/ And i don't want lag between action on tables (midi controller esentially) - and the sound coming out / or hunting music n loading it... And also maybe a bit of music producing soon.... long story short i want nooo issues

So im gonna leave this one up to you guys/ i know that you can customize your mac with different things but remember/ i AM a student/ so im kinda looking to get away with paying as little as possible /

So post what you think is best for me--- anywhere from 1000-2200 /
    (if u were me what would u buy)
    Or just say what i should n shouldnt bother getting in the computer itself...

(And i dont mean for this to be a PC vs. Mac thread / U can emotionally back any brand u want.. they are all just trying to make money off of u)

And please speak in NOOB terms/ cause i dont kno much (if anything) about this kinda stuff
    Last edited by sepdanger; 01-20-2011 at 12:00 PM.

Tech Mentor

Anybody have an estimate when Apple will refresh the MB and MBP lines? Sandy Bridge (i.e., the new chip generation from Intel) is pretty sexy.

My hunch is the 13 inch MBP will get Sandy Bridge. That would be quite a change from the current situation where you're basically facing this strong performance (MBP 15/17) vs portability (MBP 13) tradeoff. With Sandy Bridge, even a 13 inch Mac would be an absolute monster machine.

Filterkat