BPM counter TRaktor
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    33

    Default BPM counter TRaktor

    hey guys, can anyone please tell me why Traktor BPM detector sucks !

    I tried many different zones (70-135bpm etc..)
    its simply innaccurate.

    I actually prefer to bpm my tracks in serato, and open traktor after, but still..no good

    whats the ultimate solution? is mixed in key the best software for bpms as well?


    serato has a tap tempo to re write the tempo in it.. can traktor do that?

    thk you all!

  2. #2
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I have pretty good luck with Traktor. Granted there is still some fine adjustment need on a few, but not really a whole lot.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  3. #3
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    what style are you gridding?
    is it setting the grid marker on the down beat?
    how far out is it really?

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor steffanko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nis, Serbia
    Posts
    191

    Default

    Well you can compare results in traktor an mixed in key. Test few songs in both of them.
    Traktor is quite precise, almost 97%. I belive that only Denon Music Manager is better, but thats just me.
    Beside those two, that I use for scanning tracks that I play in the moment, I use
    http://www.mixmeister.com/bpmanalyzer/bpmanalyzer.asp
    Very good software, a bit slow, but great!

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    And S4 is even better than Pro so when the new Traktor comes out it should get better for you guys.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor steffanko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Nis, Serbia
    Posts
    191

    Default

    I'm not complaining for 1.2.7 eider!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Correct me if I'm wrong guys, but let's say you edit the BPM tag BEFORE Traktor analyze the file, it will overwrite it. But Yeah S4 is better, and MixMeister is also good.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Either it shows 60 bpm, when clearly its 120. But thats an obvious one.

    Sometimes with bands, it will be way off.. And sometimes even w house tracks that are really basic, it
    Wil right 73 when clearly its 125..

    Is there a way to manually tap tempo ad rewrite it in traktor like serato has?


    Is there An ultimate solution?

  9. #9
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    if you open the advanced panel at the bottom of each deck display then click on the button marked 'grid' there should be a button there to tap out the tempo (marked 'tap', usefully enough!)

    apart from that, 2 things.

    1. if when you say bands you mean indie/rock music then there's no way you'll get an accurate beat grid since a live drummer will never be as accurate as electronically syncopated music. Check ean's video on how to mix non electronic music for help there.

    2. If you have traktor set up to measure bpms as low as 60 you'll have problems. I suggest you grid by genre selecting an apporoprate range of values, eg 110-140 for house.

    also, is it really that hard to press the x2 button when you load a song and find the beatgrid is halved?
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    also, is it really that hard to press the x2 button when you load a song and find the beatgrid is halved?
    total ball ache

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •