Traktor S4 software
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    28

    Default Traktor S4 software

    My friend's Traktor S4 will be at his door in two days, although his computer kinda crashed and he asked if he could install the software on my macbook in the meantime since according to some forums: you can register the software on max two computers.

    The question is though: Is it possible to use the S4 software without the controller itself and use an external mixer with some X1's and an iPad therefore sparing me to wait for the next traktor version and possibly look in to an Audio 8 DJ soundcard?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor safefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    260

    Default

    I'm pretty sure the S4 software is hardware locked to the S4 controller, same way the old Torq was locked to their Xponent and Connectiv boxes.
    I could be wrong though.
    Fixing stuff that isn't broken.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru VirtualLogic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    611

    Default

    My friend uses his traktor s4 and a midifighter thing that he made with the s4 software so I think it will work, aga

  4. #4
    Tech Guru VirtualLogic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    611

    Default

    My friend uses his traktor s4 and a midifighter thing that he made with the s4 software so I think it will work, again not sure

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Conall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    607

    Default

    The external mixing mode is disabled by default but there was a way i saw to enable it, cant remember where i saw it. other midi controllers do work with it also

    edit: found it, here http://www.traktorbible.com/en/kontr...xing_mode.aspx

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by safefire View Post
    I'm pretty sure the S4 software is hardware locked to the S4 controller, same way the old Torq was locked to their Xponent and Connectiv boxes.
    I could be wrong though.
    it isn't

  7. #7
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    You can use the S4 software with any midi controller and any soundcard. There is no "lock" or any restrictions other than External Mixer Mode but there is a workaround that Conall has linked in his post.

  8. #8
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Open Settings.tsi with an XML editor (you can use word or notepad in a pinch)

    Find this entry



    Change the Value to 1 and external mode is activated.

    Reload S4, now go back to Output Routing in the S4 prefs and even though external mode does not show up, it is actually activated. If you choose internal again it will reset and you will have to go through this process again. A good idea is to make a copy of your settings.tsi and replace the original when you want to use another soundcard.

    This is from the Traktor Bible by the way, very helpful *cough*
    Last edited by Jester; 02-02-2011 at 02:28 AM.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •