Other USB audio interface with traktor
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default Other USB audio interface with traktor

    Hi!

    Wondering if other USB audio interfaces (instead of audio 8 dj and 4dj ) can work with TSP and timecoded Traktor CDs.

    If i want two CDJs and an external mixer i would need three inputs and one output , CDJs - input, external mixer, input or output!? and sound - out from the soundcard or from the mixer? (depends on the mixer, if thats in or output)

    I need help
    Last edited by firrre; 02-02-2011 at 07:37 AM.

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by firrre View Post
    Hi!

    Wondering if other USB audio interfaces (instead of audio 8 dj and 4dj ) can work with TSP and timecoded Traktor CDs.

    If i want two CDJs and an external mixer i would need three inputs and one output or i am totally off?
    TSP is (was) only available with an NI soundcard, but anyway no you need a stereo IN and OUT for each timecode making 12 connections in total for 3 timecodes.

    Look at the cabling guides on the NI website in the section about TSP, it makes it much clearer, but basically the signal goes out of the CDJ, into the soundcard (then through traktor of course), back out of the soundcard and into the mixer from there.

    I suppose if you were mixing internally you could do it with less.


    And this is all academic anyway, because a legal copy of TSP will only work with an NI soundcard.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    So my TSP will not work with another soundcard than the audio X dj?

    darn gotta buy me one then, thanks for telling me that

    But you say 12 connections.. The audio 4 only has 6. Doesn't that work with 2 CDJs and a mixer?

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by firrre View Post
    So my TSP will not work with another soundcard than the audio X dj?

    darn gotta buy me one then, thanks for telling me that

    But you say 12 connections.. The audio 4 only has 6. Doesn't that work with 2 CDJs and a mixer?
    either that or a certified mixer.

    an audio 4 is all you need if you are using 2 decks

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by firrre View Post
    So my TSP will not work with another soundcard than the audio X dj?

    darn gotta buy me one then, thanks for telling me that

    But you say 12 connections.. The audio 4 only has 6. Doesn't that work with 2 CDJs and a mixer?
    You should have bought TSP anyway mate, pirating's for pansies.

    The Audio 4 has 4 stereos, so 8 connections:



    which as I explained will do you for 2 decks. anything more and you need TSP.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    ah ok, but how is it piracy if im using it instead of him? he uses itch now.. isn't that allowed?

  7. #7
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Again...

    Look at the cabling guides on the NI website in the section about TSP, it makes it much clearer, but basically the signal goes out of the CDJ, into the soundcard (then through traktor of course), back out of the soundcard and into the mixer from there.

    http://www.native-instruments.com/#/...=111&page=1546

    In a word, yes.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    Again...

    Look at the cabling guides on the NI website in the section about TSP, it makes it much clearer, but basically the signal goes out of the CDJ, into the soundcard (then through traktor of course), back out of the soundcard and into the mixer from there.

    http://www.native-instruments.com/#/...=111&page=1546

    In a word, yes.
    Yeah i know sorry, removed that post, very helpful m8 thank you for your help

  9. #9
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by firrre View Post
    ah ok, but how is it piracy if im using it instead of him? he uses itch now.. isn't that allowed?
    if you bought a licence off someone then no worries, it's just when people say they have TSP but no Audio 8 it usually means they've pirated the software. Same goes for people who haven't updated since version 1.2.4 since that was the most recent version to be cracked.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  10. #10
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    if you bought a licence off someone then no worries, it's just when people say they have TSP but no Audio 8 it usually means they've pirated the software. Same goes for people who haven't updated since version 1.2.4 since that was the most recent version to be cracked.
    You have no faith in the software cracking community. 1.2.7 is alive and well in numerous places. I found out through a friend who's licensing with NI got messed up…after trying to deal with them for a week or two to get things worked out, he gave up and used a cracked copy.

    I fully support paying for software that you use, but the sh*t companies try to do to prevent the ill-named "piracy" are such a pain in the @$$ that I know several people who buy software in boxes for proof and just never open it. I've seen more people–for example–with the same cracked volume license of Logic with the install disks sitting in their office sealed than I have individual licenses installed correctly…and Apple's copy protection is a lot less intrusive than most Audio production/performance stuff.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •