CDJ & TSP latency, need minor advice
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Liambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Scotland
    Posts
    726

    Default CDJ & TSP latency, need minor advice

    Right iv recently done the switch to Traktor Scratch Pro with a Kontrol X1, since buying everything i have just used time-coded vinyl which i love!

    But the other night i was messing around with the CD Time codes, (using 2x CDJ1000mk3's) But when i hit play to start the track there is a delay of around half a second to a second. I think its just something simple but having a look around the software and manual and slightly unsure on what to change.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    you still need to set cue points at the start of the track, on the first beat like you would with a normal audio cd
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Liambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Scotland
    Posts
    726

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djchriswoods.co.uk View Post
    you still need to set cue points at the start of the track, on the first beat like you would with a normal audio cd
    Thanks for the reply. Yeah im aware you will have to set cue points and stuff, but now i read back i mean there is a slight delay from hitting the play button to the music actual starting if you get me?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Nunz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Liambo View Post
    Thanks for the reply. Yeah im aware you will have to set cue points and stuff, but now i read back i mean there is a slight delay from hitting the play button to the music actual starting if you get me?
    I don't use timecodes, but from what I've read there is always going to be a slight delay because of the time it takes for the software to react to the change in the time sequence.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Liambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Scotland
    Posts
    726

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
    I don't use timecodes, but from what I've read there is always going to be a slight delay because of the time it takes for the software to react to the change in the time sequence.
    Thanks for replying again, but iv sat and had a think about and look about and im now aware that there will always be the delay but what im trying to do is minimise it.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    if you have used it with vinyl timecode with no problem, i cant understand why suddenly you now have an issue with the cd timecode.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  7. #7
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Make sure 'quant' is off
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lethal_pizzle View Post
    Make sure 'quant' is off
    i use cd timecode control and have quant on, with no issues
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  9. #9
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    a little more info about you setup would help. Without knowing any additional info I think it can either be an issue with snap/quantize being on and it snapping to you first grid marker.

    I use 2xCDJ-800 MK1 & DJM-700 w/TSP 1.27 with Multi Core cables to Audio 8 fed into a current MBP 13" 2.4/4GB ram and have my latency @5.5ms with no issue. I can lower the latency even more but I find this to be great with my setup.
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •