Noob needs help w/ VCI-100 & Traktor
    Tech Wizard

Default Noob needs help w/ VCI-100 & Traktor

OK, so let me first provide some personal background. I have been a musician for over 15 years, mainly playing guitar and bass in various rock and electronica acts. The past 2-3 I have gotten really into EDM - listening to a lot of techno/house/minimal/electro, and the occasional dnb.

I recently decided I wanted to take my personal musical experiences in the same direction my musical taste is going right now - EDM. After some thought and reading, I initially decided against doing the old school vinyl approach. Similarly, I decided against doing the whole Serato/Torq thing. I want to pretty much do all digital MIDI, so I ended up purchasing the VCI-100 that comes with the Traktor 3 LE software bundle.

I am friends with many of the local DJs in the Tulsa, OK EDM scene and often pick their brains about the DJ thing. I think I have fairly good grasp on the conceptual "theory", if you will, of DJing/mixing etc... So I just need to put these theories into practice (which I understand is much easier said than done).

That being said, I am looking for some good tutorials/tips/tricks on getting started, specifically with the VCI-100 used with Traktor. In addition, is there any other software or hardware that would serve as an advantage to me in the future that I could potentially start looking into?

I must also note that this will be just a hobby for now I will be working on in my spare time, and hope to aspire to eventually play some local weekly/monthly events in the Tulsa area once I gain a better understanding of the whole digital DJing realm

THANKS in advance to any and all suggestions and help!

~Mike
    [mike.frank]

Tech Mentor