Backing up your music files
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Backing up your music files

Hello all.

I'm new to these forums and getting back to dj'ing after an 8 year break (life gets in the way sometimes). So although I'm a vet when it comes to spinning, last time I did I gig I had to carry turntables, and crates of vinyl with me.

In other words I'm a digital newb.

My questions is, what do you think is the best way to store/back up your digital music? I have a macbook pro and up until recently I had been using its hard drive to store all my music, but I dont want to fill up the entire HD with just music. Yesterday I bought a small portable 250 Gig HD.

What do you all recommend I do to either use the portable drive as the only place I store my music files or a way that I can not fill up the laptop's HD?

Thanks in advance and happy new year!. If there is a thread about this that I have missed please direct me there and feel free to lock this.

Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar

I think you should have two external drives. This is how I want to have it set up when I have all my stuff together.

Your internal drive will be for the music you are spinning actively. This drive will not always have the same tunes on it. Sometimes you will move things off as they leave your playlists.

You have an external drive in your apartment with all of your music. This is so when you decide to move files off of your internal drive you will still have access to them.

You have another external drive you use for regular (weekly/monthly) backups. This is kept somewhere outside of your home (safe deposit box/parent's house/friend's house, etc.) in case of some sort of emergency (fire/theft/damage/etc.). I'd recommend the two externals leaving you lots of headroom in space because, well, those things fill up fast. :-)
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

Divided we stand
    United we fall