Will it connect RCA to Aux??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default Will it connect RCA to Aux??

    Hey Guys,

    I have a gig tonight, and the in house sound system to this house has an aux out cable, my mixer is RCA. Now, I have an RCA to Aux out cable, but I dont have an RCA to Aux in. If I go buy an aux in to aux in cable, and connect to the sound system that way, will it work???

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    Your post makes absolutely no sense.

    Post pictures of the gear, because apparently you have no idea how to explain yourself.

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    My guess its a home stereo/theatre wih 1/8 inch connector (normally labeled as aux), but I could use a more detailed explanation.

    If you and ask for an Aux/Aux cable they would laught at you or sell monster cables...

  4. #4
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  5. #5
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    While it makes no sense, it sounds like the answer is yes...

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor Nales's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    184

    Default

    Is the cable for the house system not detachable? Weird that it would be a hardwired aux cable ... they just WANT people to plug in their ipods....

    but yes aux in to aux in will work or RCA output to Aux input

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    336

    Default

    I understand what you're saying. I think the confusion is coming from the fact that "aux" is not a type of connector.

    Is the connector on the house system a round hole (ie a 1/4 inch connection)? Or is it a slighty bigger round hole with three smaller holes inside it (ie an XLR connection?

    Either way, I'm pretty sure that so long as you can find the adaptors to change your RCA to whatever you need to plug into the house system, you should be fine. Although less adaptors is always better.

    Check out this article from the blog as well:

    http://www.djtechtools.com/2010/05/2...dj-essentials/
    Mixes and Productions on Soundcloud

    VCI-100 SE - DJ I/O - MacBook Pro 13" - TMA-1 Headphones

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nales View Post
    RCA output to Aux input
    boom. solved.
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard M Elbert Grant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Redding
    Posts
    98

    Default

    actually what you should do is split the rca's into 4 1/4'' then take those 1/4'' back to 3.5 then take the two opposite 3.5s and connnect them into a banana pizza and take a spin class.

    what everyone else is saying, 2 x RCA Male / 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Female Y-Cable.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M Elbert Grant View Post
    what everyone else is saying, 2 x RCA Male / 1 x 3.5mm Stereo Female Y-Cable.
    but why even do that? just bypass the male y cable and plug the rca into the aux input. direct line.
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •