That Effect That A Lot of Dj's Use
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default That Effect That A Lot of Dj's Use

Hi guys (and girls),
    I'm pretty new at this dj'ing thing, but I've been putting in my hours to try and get better. I just have one question for nice build-effects. Currently I've mapped a sweep with the iceverb, peakfilter, and reverb chained together. I'd heard this can also be done with a T3 Reverb in freeze mode.

But the one main effect I would like to learn how to do is when DJ's take a loop, and make it smaller (which i can do), but at the same time raise the pitch a lot and a kind of filtery sound. I hope you guys understand what I mean, it's when the loop gets really small and the pitch gets really high right before a big drop.

If anyone can help me with this I'd really appreciate it

Thanks
    DJ: Traktor Kontrol S4, Audio-Technica ATH-M50
    Production: LPD 8, Keystation 49, Fast-Track Pro, Equator D5 monitors

do the same thing you did for the sweep but instead map the loop feature and key feature to a knob? Or instead of key, you can use filter which does something similar (depending on which filter you are using)

right now I'm using the basic filter. Should i use something different?
    DJ: Traktor Kontrol S4, Audio-Technica ATH-M50
    Production: LPD 8, Keystation 49, Fast-Track Pro, Equator D5 monitors

I don't know ... mess around ... You got Transpose Stretch, Ringmolulator, Formant Filter ... each of those would give you something interesting/different ... just mess around until you get the sound you like

Tech Guru

use the beatmasher instead of the loop feature bc if u wnted to loop a build up and you ended the loop, you wouldnt end up at the Drop. hope that makes sense.
    so use the beatmasher and then when you see on the waveform that the beat is about to drop, turn off beatmasher.
    Hardware: Akai Max49, Maschine, Equator D5 monitors, Saffire Pro 14
    Software: Logic, Maschine