DJ competition do's, don'ts and general advice!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default DJ competition do's, don'ts and general advice PLEASE

Hey friends. So just got myself a fiercely competitive dj comp and need some djtt support.
    Anything you can throw at me if you've had this experience would be awesome..
    And just to add to it, the equipment is going to be pioneer 850's, which I've never used before, but am familiar with the 1000 so shouldn't be a huge issue, will have to get a usb sorted though.

^ Anyone have experience setting up a decent system for browsing on one of the new cdj's? I know there's a couple of 2000 users around..

Anyway, anything you can think of would be appreciated!
    Last edited by levvis; 02-23-2011 at 11:44 PM. Reason: title

bumpity bump. c'mon fams get your tips at me!

if you're going first, don't blow your load on the first run.
    if you're going second, repeat and elaborate on the tech of the first guy (phrasing, juggling, cutting, etc). again, don't blow your load on the first run.
    don't let it get personal.
    have fun.
    facebook.com/fkdmusic
    soundcloud.com/fkdmusic
    lethaltalent.com

Tribal Rites feat Kate Lesing on Soundcloud.

Only ever used an 850 in panic mode when I was at a party an the DJs were late - had a couple of memory sticks with tunes on, so used them - IIRC you can pick your way through a directory tree easy enough ...
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

I did some previously (the following may or may not apply depending of the type of music you're going to play or the type of contest you're going to enter but that's few thought, hope it helps).

- don't compare yourself to others, you have your tools, your style that's all that matters (ie no bad mouth about others and be proud for what you do).