OT - Worst thing about mac's
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor levvis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne VIC/Ballina NSW
    Posts
    406

    Default OT - Worst thing about mac's

    how command + tab (alt + tab in window's language) ALWAYS switches to finder instead of an app that you're actually using


    Last edited by levvis; 02-28-2011 at 04:21 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru 3heads's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Leipzig, Germany
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    But Exposť kicks Cmd+Tab in the balls big time, anyways (I didn't even know that OS X also has this combination)
    13,3" MacBookPro (Mid 2012) # 2x Technics 1210 # NI Audio 8 DJ # Ecler Nuo 2.0 # NI Traktor Kontrol X1 # Sennheiser HD-25
    http://soundcloud.com/vincent-lebaron/

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor levvis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne VIC/Ballina NSW
    Posts
    406

    Default

    this is very true. I find myself swiping to the top corner on all computers now to reveal all. Yeah I think it's included for the convenience of the converted, very thoughtful but it's pretty useless

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    4 finger swipe exposť for the win
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    No, it doesn't.

    I have no idea why you'd think it works that way, because it just doesn't.

  6. #6
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,524

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    4 finger swipe exposť for the win :d
    +10000

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor popoff44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mostapha View Post
    No, it doesn't.

    I have no idea why you'd think it works that way, because it just doesn't.
    Agreed. I have no idea where this is coming from. I missed many things (at first) upon switching from Windows to Mac. However, switching between applications or different windows within the same application was never one of them

    "Command + Tab" pops up a menu that lets you choose which application you want to switch to; Horizontal four finger swipe does the same thing.

    "Command + ~" lets you quickly switch between different windows of the same application (e.g. multiple browser windows, etc.).

    Plus, I find Expose and Spaces to be quite useful too when it comes to switching between applications and just organizing the workflow.
    2 + 2 = 4

  8. #8
    Tech Guru MaxOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,930

    Default

    Always use cmd and tab to swap between applications.

    Never use expose or spaces myself, dunno why

    Worst thing is no drag and drop from itunes to other applications...

    that's a mac fail if you ask me.

    only works dragging and dropping to the finder pretty much. with a pc you can drag from itunes into a deck in traktor.

    Macs ftw still obviously
    CLUB OF JACKS - RELEASES >>TRAXSOURCE
    Club of Jacks are a London based House & Garage production / DJ duo with releases on a number of underground labels including Plastik People Recordings, Blockhead Recordings, Hi Energy!, Pocket Jacks Trax, Soul Revolution Records and their own Club of Jacks imprint.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru paulmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Warrington U.K
    Posts
    928

    Default

    think i need to learn how to use all these things on my macbbok pro, i dont know or understand wht spaces is, i know pressing f3 is expose and shows u what u have open
    MacBook Pro 17" | 1 x Kontrol S4 | 2 x Technics 1210mk2 | Ortofon Elektro's | TSP | Facebook Soundcloud Mixcloud

  10. #10
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulmac View Post
    think i need to learn how to use all these things on my macbbok pro, i dont know or understand wht spaces is, i know pressing f3 is expose and shows u what u have open
    do you have an MBP with the all in one buttonless trackpad? If you do, check out the multi touch gestures. They're invaluable.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •