***Who really mixes anymore? DJ’ing is becoming a farce!!
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Default ***Who really mixes anymore? DJ’ing is becoming a farce!!

I’m a bedroom DJ who loves to beat mix and I have some experience DJ’ing parties, weddings, car shows etc. I love to beat mix house and trance it’s been a hobby of mine for some time.

This past Friday night I went to a friend’s bday party at a fairly large sports bar north of Toronto. There was a DJ there using Serato and two turn tables. Watching him mix all kinds of genres was very impressing; he was going nuts with his mixer and turntables. Even though he didn’t hit the beats on time every time he was very skilled at what he was doing. He didn’t make that much because he loves doing it and doesn’t care much for the money. I have those same feelings.

Saying all that, I put some time aside from all of my home reno’s and decided to go see one of my favorite DJ’s who came to Toronto Saturday night. The night was going great till I stood in an area of the club where I can see the DJ spin with all his equipment. That’s when I felt I was getting ripped off. He wasn’t mixing at all. He had some software running (I think it was Albelton not sure cuz it was hard to see his screen well) and all he did was tweak the mixer a bit and dance. Whenever the transition came in he popped on his headphones for about 15 seconds max (I was counting LOL) then he’d popped them off and start playing with the mixer for 10 seconds then went back and raise his hands and dance till the next transition and the process repeated again.

To me his set was pre-recorded and he was acting like he was mixing. This happened also when I went to see Tiesto a while back. Again where I was standing I could see what he was doing and never saw him once change a CD for hours, but he kept flipping through his CD binder as if he was looking for one.