Harmonic mixing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Harmonic mixing

Tech Mentor

Default Harmonic mixing

Hey DjTT

This thread is really just for my own interest then needing to find a common answer. But first alittle about how i have been planning and mixing music.

I have been mixing with controllers for around 4 years now. Started on Ableton and love the fact that your can create any template your mind can imagine. For the first 2 years i would always mix in complex mode and then complex pro when 8 came out. I would always use mixed in key to plan my playlist and over these years i can say i became a slave to harmonic mixing and when i could play tracks i wanted to.

I have since then moved over to traktor and have not really used mixing in key when playing live or creating a planned playlist. This has been great learning!! I have found out so much more about cutting.. using fx to jam tracks together etc.

So this brings my to my questions or thought really.. How many of your use mixed in key and if you do?? Are you harmonic mixing for the whole of your set or only at times?? How do you mix harmonically if you are reading the crowd??

Sorry for the wall-o-text
    Discuss
    Macbook Pro 2011 :: Xone 22 :: Technics 1200 :: Denon DNS3700 :: 2x Midifighter ::Akia MPD24 :: Kaoss Pad 2 :: Audio 6 :: KRK Rockit 5 Darkstar :: Roland Sh-101 :: Traktor Scratch Duo :: Ableton live 8

hey there.

i mix harmoically like 90% of the time. just sounds better
    Setup: TP 3, Kontrol S5, MF Twister, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, Aiaiai Tma-1
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

Tech Mentor

so.. before you even consider mixing 2 tracks together to you find out what key it is in??

I am sure to be fair most people are mixing harmonically without even know it.. This then raises another thought or question.Are most DJ's using their ears to find if 2 tracks go together or just processing it through mixed in key.. and work from there??