Question; Recording from a mixer.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default Question; Recording from a mixer.

    This potentially could be under the wrong sub-forum, but I'll giver anyway.

    What kind of audio interface can I use to record from my DJ mixer? Reason being is i have a Numark Mixdeck and I'd usually record directly from my laptop, but since the Mixer on the Mixdeck acts as a real life mixer, the Laptop doesn't recognize the crossfader, EQ's, etc.

    I was wondering what I'd have to look into buying to be able to record my mixes. Preferably under 100$. Can I use any USB Audio Interface? Lemme know.

    Thanks again guys.

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Just take the record output from the mixer, plug it into an input in any interface you like and route that back into something like audacity.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Are you wanting to record just the sound or are you wanting to control Traktor's EQ's and crossfaders with the mixer?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Ryan Leo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    477

    Default

    I have a Imac and what I do is this:

    Run the outs on my denon x120 with a pair of RCA's into a 1/8" converter and open up garage band and use the internal input(whatever its called) and turn on the monitor without feedback protection.

    Or I run a spliter and one goes to stereo and one goes to imac for recording.

    I got my new DJ alias on the go now so I should have some mixes up by the end of the weekend.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    Are you wanting to record just the sound or are you wanting to control Traktor's EQ's and crossfaders with the mixer?
    I'm trying to record what I hear through the speakers. As of right now if I just hit Record on my laptop while my Mixdeck is plugged in via USB, all I hear is the track playing. No effects or anything. Because its recording off my laptop soundcard, not my Mixdeck soundcard, I believe.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    343

    Default

    you've got a record out there, plug a RCA to 3,5mm cable and plug the 3,5mm ending into a line in on your laptop. then use audacity (for example) ad record what you get off the line input.
    Xone 42, X1, Audio 8, Maschine mikro

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Alright I got the 3.5 mm hooked up to my laptop from the mixdeck and am able to record in Audacity. Last question I swear. What are the right settings to record? When it asks for channel do I select stereo/mono? Stereo would make sense but it has a weird wonky noise. Any thing else? If anyone else who has this set up could just gimme their settings I'd be the happiest DJ since Avicii when he dropped Bromance.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I got it working but theres a weird like reverbish noise. Any tips on settings for recording?

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ventura County
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CodesMcC View Post
    I got it working but theres a weird like reverbish noise. Any tips on settings for recording?
    I am wondering the same thing. I wanted to find a solution for recording from my mixdeck so I downloaded audacity, but it doesn't work well at all...

  10. #10
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    I have a DJM, and just have the record go into my built in line microphone input, then use audacity. I have it set up with core, built in line, and stereo and it works fine. If you are getting strange noises make sure your connections are good, but to the mixer and into the jack of the computer.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •