Problem with output routing
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Problem with output routing

    Hi , i'm new on this forum , but i have a problem with my traktor.

    I have a realtek ac97 soundcard , and i have a problem with faders volume and output routing.
    I use my handphones to mix , i haven't monitors.

    But for example ( i have a track on a deck , on b deck i have another track , while i turn up the fader , the sound is very nasty )

    For example i will put here an register

    http://www64.zippyshare.com/v/82465323/file.html
    As you can see the volume is too louder and the transition is bad !

    My setup on output routing

    http://oi56.tinypic.com/33vnkv7.jpg

    Internal mixer is p600 with ladder

    My lantency 92.5 ms , even i would change this lantency it's the same thing .

    Sorry for bad english

  2. #2
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    You should have the ports connected to your speakers set to "output master".
    "Output monitor" is for your headphones.

    Are you sure you are not clipping? Turn down the master volume and see if that makes it better.

  3. #3
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    What he said. And 92.5 ms is enormous and will affect your performance, I suggest you don't go higher than 10 if you can avoid it.

    When you say you don't have monitors, do you mean you're only using headphones and no speakers? in which case, you need to select whichever sound card output channels you're using for the headphones in the "output master" section and leave the rest blank.

    Again, watch Traktor's master volume. You generally don't want that turned up much past half way.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    What he said. And 92.5 ms is enormous and will affect your performance, I suggest you don't go higher than 10 if you can avoid it.
    For purely a mix dj using sync it makes absolutely no difference.

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    have you ever tried 92ms of latency? it's almost 0.1 of a second which doesn't sound like much, but if you're mixing DnB at 175 bpm for example that's about a 1/3 of a beat which leaves you utterly screwed if sync fails you, which it can.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    The point is that you never have to do anything that instantly effects the music if you're a straight up mix dj so it doesn't matter if everything happens a third of a beat later.

    How can sync fail you exactly? Explain this to me.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    That realtek card should be able to use ASIO4ALL. Grab it and use it as your audio driver in Traktor.

    http://www.asio4all.com/
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    How can sync fail you exactly? Explain this to me.
    If you haven't gridded your tracks properly, or if the bpm wanders. Sync is great, but being able to fix it if it's off is pretty useful.

    This is pretty irrelevant anyway lol, cos there is no way that soundcard needs to run anywhere near 92ms.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •