audio setup
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: audio setup

  1. #1
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default audio setup

    man i post way to many questions... anyways:

    so im gonna buy two dnsc2000's. they do not have built in soundcards just USB out. so this means: run both into laptop, plug in soundcard, use the four outs on the soundcard to my mixer (Behringer DDM4000) and then use the mixer's outputs to my speakers. if thats wrong, correct me please.


    pt.2: doing this setup means i will need.... an audio card that has four outputs right? so would the Native Instruments Audio Kontrol 1 work? it says it has four outs on the back... in the picture. so im thinking it would work. is this right? if so i have finally figured out what my upgrade from my numark mixdeck will be

    Pt.3: using the aforementioned setup, would my effects in traktor still work and go through the mixer fine and such? It's worrying me since the ddm4000 had it's own effects and I don't want them to interfere with my traktor effects.
    Last edited by ranzerox; 03-27-2011 at 05:52 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru exokinetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The best place on earth.
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Yep, that would definitely work.

    I own two of those Denons as well, and I really like them a lot.

    Annnd, you are correct, the Audio Kontrol 1 has 4 stereo outputs (1/4") So you would need 4 - 1/4" to Dual RCA "insert/patch" cables to route to your mixers line inputs.

    I actually use the two denons too control just two decks, so I don't ever have to deck change on the controller, but I'm a snob like that lol.

    ..That lets me get away with using an Audio 2.


    But for your 4 deck setup, either the Audio Kontrol 1, or Audio 4 DJ would suite your needs quite well.
    I'm addicted to WoW.


    Please do not bother me about being a productive member of society.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Thank you! Lots of help

    Could you possibly answer pt.3 too?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru exokinetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The best place on earth.
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Yeah, your effects in traktor are going to effect the signal *before* it leaves the audio interface, so no matter where you send you decks outputs in Traktor, the effects will always behave the same way.


    I actually have a DDM4000 as well (twinsies lol) so I can say with ought a doubt the Traktor effect will not "interfere" with the DDM effects.

    As a matter of fact, I use traktor for effects like beatmasher, ans transpose stretch, and I use my DDM4k for filters.


    You can use the effects in traktor, and then add the effects from the DDMk ON TOP of those, in many different daisy chain combinations.


    ...The possibilities are endless, hehe.
    I'm addicted to WoW.


    Please do not bother me about being a productive member of society.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default

    That's epic! Lol alright well thanks man youve been waaaay beyond helpful lol. Any chance you live near Austin tx? Itd be awesome to mix together seeing as to how our setups would be almost identical

  6. #6
    Tech Guru exokinetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The best place on earth.
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Depends on your definition of "near"


    I live in southern California, so, not exactly that close...

    But relatively not that far.
    I'm addicted to WoW.


    Please do not bother me about being a productive member of society.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Still a while lol. It was worth a shot. So how is the ddm4000?

  8. #8
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Just out of curiosity why are you looking at the AK1?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  9. #9
    Tech Guru exokinetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    The best place on earth.
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ranzerox View Post
    Still a while lol. It was worth a shot. So how is the ddm4000?
    I really do like it.


    It has treated me well over the past 3 years now, my favorite aspect is its absolute modularity.


    You can tune it to fit just about any taste, sound, style, or genre.
    I'm addicted to WoW.


    Please do not bother me about being a productive member of society.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor ranzerox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    304

    Default

    @exokenetic awesome, it seemed good for the price and it's features.

    @photojojo idk, I was searching guitarcenter (closest shop to me) and it's pretty much all I found with four outputs. Any other suggestions? Cheaper or better or what not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •