I'm a VERY happy APC puppy !! But no-one else understands
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default I'm a VERY happy APC puppy !! But no-one else understands

    Just picked up a steal of a deal on an unused APC40 for a whole $20 more than a APC20 !!

    No one else understands how much of a deal I got .. so, yeah

    Now the question is: Ableton or Traktor from here on in ?

    The Traktor mappings I've seen (and tried) aren't great & waiting on live to update to try the marshall mapping for Ableton.
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    Did I mention its even got that new controller smell (the GF noticed!)
    Last edited by deevey; 04-06-2011 at 08:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru tyfurious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    798

    Default

    If you need to do things quickly and last second, Traktor, if you want to be prepared and only play what you intended, Ableton. Then again, Ableton has a much larger learning curve, so be ready to spend ridiculous amounts of time getting down a few things in Ableton if you want an original setup. I'd vote Ableton (traktor is weird with the apc40 anyways).

    Nice deal dude!
    Traktor/Itch: Xone Dx - MidiFighter x1
    Ableton: Livid Code - iPad - KP3
    Tech: Macbook Pro 17", intel i7, 8gb RAM, 500gb HD 7200RPM

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Try both, I loved mapping/using the APC with Traktor.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    The APC40 is the SHIIIIZZZZZ!!

    I build the APC80 already....but when i just used the APC40....it was JUST as fun!

    The HouseQ mapping is the best for me.
    But check the mappings section, there are a few!

    ENJOY!!!!!!!

    BTW....I also got both the 20 and 40 for a BARGAIN....at different times....so yeah....I understand!

    AWESOMENESS!
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Doing a mapping at the moment for it. I tried the houseQ, and the Red mapping neither twisted my biscuit though, just didnt "feel right".

    One thing I gotta ask though is there any way to display the encoder rings in "Bar mode" rather than single led mode ?

    Gods theres ALOT of LED's to map !!

  6. #6
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,082

    Default

    HAHAHAHA

    I am not sure myself....but ask the question in the mappings section. I am sure someone with help.

    There is definitely a way....as I have both in my mapping.
    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Kinetik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Here is one of my old apc40 tsi's you can check out. has 2 separate pages for loop/cuepoint, 4 decks, full effects and multiple modifiers.. Moved on to a different setup for my apc20+apc40 so I have not updated it for TSP2 but check it out as i think its a good starting point

    http://cl.ly/5nez

    also ill try and put together an image with what the mappings are for everything this week. didn't plant to post this till i updated it

    Stop All Clips=change pad functions from loop to cue (visual feedback on everything)
    the rest is pretty easy to figure out
    I am no longer affiliated with Beatler/Beatport Pro.
    Gearslut, Tech Whore, Programmer, Graphic Designer, Photographer, DJ/Producer
    Current Setup: Macbook Pro 15" Core i7, Macbook 13", Xone 4D, 2x Xone 1D, 2x Korg PadKontrol, iPad2, Novation Remote Zero SL MKII, APC40, APC20, Axiom Pro 49, Novation Launch Pad, TraktorPro 2, Ableton

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    416

    Default

    sweet deal

  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    @ Kinetik

    Just a heads up, there isn't LED feedback on the encoders .. not crackers on that layout either but cheers ..

    Cant for the life of me figure how to set the encoders to bar mode hrrrmmmm

    Guess I'm more of a channel strip kinda guy :P

    I like my controllers to be "stupid proof" for those JD & Coke moments

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    twisted my biscuit though
    love it!!

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •