Anyone Have Experience in Gay Clubs ?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Anyone Have Experience in Gay Clubs ?

I'm trying out at a gay club tomorrow . I have some experience but it's been more of a pop/top40 type atmosphere and this club wants house.

I'm thinkin stuff like Basement Jaxx "Fly life" and More Tribal stuff mixed with Madonna Cher Whitney and Mary J remix's .

I call the stuff you play in gay clubs "Bath House." Anything by Tom Stephan.

Take a look at the last two pages on this Traktor thread: http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...ght=bath+house
    Last edited by steveboyett; 01-23-2009 at 06:36 PM.
    Steve Boyett
    Podcasts: Groovelectric | Podrunner | Podrunner: Intervals
    Traktor user

Tech Wizard

i always had succes with the more vocal garage-y house music, mixed with some more latin/tribal house stuff, and some (paradise garage) disco-classics on house beats..but then again, you have lots of different gay crowds, the same like straight crowds

I don't really know what your demographic is going to be like, but in my experience, I would steer clear of anything stereo-typically gay (madonna, culture club, rick astley) as I have actually offended the promoter before (i don't get booked there anymore =() Electro, Garage, and Indie dance usually do quite well tho. Crystal Castles, Chromeo, Chocolate Puma, The Gossip, Electric Valentine, are some vocals that are nice staples to the GTLB scene and there are plenty of remixes of these artists to choose from.

Quote Originally Posted by Damien1138 View Post
    I would steer clear of anything stereo-typically gay (madonna, culture club, rick astley) as I have actually offended the promoter before (i don't get booked there anymore =() Electro, Garage, and Indie dance usually do quite well tho.