Problem with Audio 2 DJ sound dropping out
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default Problem with Audio 2 DJ sound dropping out

    Ok, the info first: Im using a laptop running Windows 7 64bit with Pentium Dual Core Processor and 4gb RAM. Im using Traktor Pro 2 LE with 2 CDJ 400s hooked up by USB to it. Im using an external Xone 22 mixer. Im also using a audio 2 DJ to transfer the sound from the laptop straight to the mixer by 1/4 jack to RCA cables. The CDJs are just acting as controllers as I had awful trouble getting the built in soundcards to work with traktor pro 2.

    The problem is, the sound works fine and eveything, but every 4-5 minutes, the sound drops completely for about 2-3 seconds and the computer freezes for a few seconds then resumes playing normally again. Ive tried the audio 2 DJ with another usb cable and same thing. I noticed also that the CPU meter on traktor goes into the red zone straight after the laptop resumes but goes back to normal (down near the end) after a second or 2.

    I have the laptop set to high power and usb port sleep is turned off. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    is the wifi/bluetooth enabled? When they ping for new connections it can make things freeze up on windows.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Download a little tool called dpclat and run it - if you get red spikes on the graph you need to tinker with your drivers. As mentioned wifi/bluetooh/Battery monitors tend to be the main culprits.
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Reformat eeeeevvvvverything

  5. #5
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Better than this - I think maybe the new audio2 drivers (2.9.8?) have dpclat built into their control panels.

    Also, there is a very good article in the NI knowledge base on how to tweak naughty PC hardware configurations.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    @lethal

    Really? That is awesome. Props to NI.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    @MrP - I'll have to check, I know dpclat is present and correct in my audio10 control panel though
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lethal_pizzle View Post
    @MrP - I'll have to check, I know dpclat is present and correct in my audio10 control panel though
    Ah, yeah I'd forgotten about this - my Audio 8 has the same ...
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    is the wifi/bluetooth enabled? When they ping for new connections it can make things freeze up on windows.
    Turned off the physical bluetooth and wireless switch and turned off the drivers in device manager, but nothing fixed...
    Quote Originally Posted by Sherlock Ohms View Post
    Download a little tool called dpclat and run it - if you get red spikes on the graph you need to tinker with your drivers. As mentioned wifi/bluetooh/Battery monitors tend to be the main culprits.
    Downloaded that and disabled nearly everything in device manager that wasn't necessary... it fixed it slightly, the audio drop out wasn't as bad, but still not the way it used to be...

    WTF is wrong like? My old laptop with 512mb ram and a single core celeron processor never had these problems...

    Is the actual soundcard fucked?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    reforrmaaaaaaat

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •