Making things fall out of sync as an effect...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default Making things fall out of sync as an effect...

    I know Hawtin does this a lot, but I'm not sure how to do it.

    How do you make things purposely fall out of sync? I have two X1s and it's obviously easy to turn off sync, but I'm not sure how to make things unsync from the X1. Any tips?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Um raise or lower the tempo of one deck but not the other?

  3. #3
    Tech Guru jprime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Comox Valley, Canada
    Posts
    681

    Default

    omg un synch :eek:

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    tape (unsynced) delay

    http://www.traktorbible.com/en/fx_usecases.aspx

    He uses Ableton tho

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jprime View Post
    omg un synch :eek:

    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,380

    Default

    nudge.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I was going to say T3 delay was actually what Hawtin does, but padi beat me to it. You could always do what everyone else suggested and just turn sync off.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor K.T.I.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Turn Sync off and perform a Beatjump on one of your tracks by a fragment of a beat with step sizes, such as 1/2, 1/4 or 1/8.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Once the tempo has been set, it's set. Turning sync off doesn't actually make anything fall out of sync.

    So, it's just a crazy delay then, not things actually falling out of sync? If I apply the same delay to two different tracks, are they going to sound in sync still or does it all depend on when the delay is turned on for that track?

  10. #10
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by verbal View Post
    Once the tempo has been set, it's set. Turning sync off doesn't actually make anything fall out of sync.

    So, it's just a crazy delay then, not things actually falling out of sync? If I apply the same delay to two different tracks, are they going to sound in sync still or does it all depend on when the delay is turned on for that track?
    The will move acording to the dealy rate, but they will be synced between them. You will get the impression things slow down/go faster by changing the rate

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •