So what if.....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: So what if.....

  1. #1
    Tech Wizard nicolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    94

    Default So what if.....

    I was reading Ean's article on making loops and then an idea came up, let's make a post about people showing what would happen if you used..... with Digital tools like Traktor, Ableton or whatever program there is.

    For instance
    A tried this as I was playing with my kontrol pad

    You can do some creative loops if you use 2 hot cues and the beatmaster at full lenght. Choose 2 hotcues (maybe more if you want) and then play with them for a while, this is important as you have to get used to the secuence timming. Whenever you feel ready use the beatmaster, now you have to be careful, the beatmaster will store a secuence that is made out of 2 beats from the beginnig of a hot cue and 2 from the beginning of the other.
    This can go even further, you can use modifiers to select hot cues of different tracks with the same button, this way you can make a secuence made from one, two or more tracks.

    (Punch button from Traktor 3 would have worked great)

    so... what if

    Nicolas

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Monika.mhz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    987

    Default

    I'm having a bit of a language barrier here I think...

    I said CAPTAIN.

    I said. wuuuuuut?
    Monika.mhz - I do things. Also stuff.
    -------------------
    Read the F.A.Q!
    Articles: Streamline Your Laptop for Djs(Windows)

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard nicolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Yeah sorry, my native language is spanish.
    Basically if you use the beatmaster while changing hot cues the beatmaster will store a secuence of beats from different cues.

    The idea of the post is to be able to see what comes out when you're just experimenting with your software and midi controller.

  4. #4
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    Hola Nicolas, en mi mente entiendo lo que quieres hacer con Traktor, pero yo no creo su possbile hacerlo. ¿Puede mostrarnos un ejemplo en vídeo en youtube?
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor gfocus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nicolas
    Basically if you use the beatmaster
    You are talking about the beatmasher not the beatmaster. Just in case anybody got confused. Not trying to be a smartass.

    Or were you talking about


  6. #6
    Tech Mentor nemo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Helltown Sweden
    Posts
    376

    Default

    I just lold. Dude, I must see that movie (To the mods, sorry for the offtopic, but I really laughed hard!)

  7. #7
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,347

    Default

    Yeah, same here... If I am correct, this is the classic bad fantasy movie with Robert Signer or Singer, who also had the main lead in the 80ies scifi hitseries 'V'.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard nicolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    94

    Default

    I saw it long time ago, good one.
    Been trying to record video an audio but the sound is not working, anyone can advice me about a good program??? I think the problem is with the ASIO drivers.
    Music is communication, as any other form of creation.
    SoundCloud
    MBP 13", Traktor Pro, Presonus Firebox, Numark Stealth, Akai MPD-18, Behringer speakers.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    849

    Default

    That would be pure gold to sample or use in VJ sets.

    Woooo thread derailed.

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard nicolas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    94

    Default

    but let's work on the original topic again
    the hard part is to be able to make it sound good.

    you have to count beats: one, two for the first hot cue then you change: three, four for the second. your fingers have to be in exact sync with the beats.
    Once you get used to it, just turn on your beastmaster (from now on i'll just keep it this way) at full lenght.
    Your dear beastmaster will save a secuence that has the first two beats from the first cue, and the first two beats from the second cue. And now you have a loop you can use that is made out of two different parts of the track.

    there are several advantages:

    you can make a loop by taking any number of beats of different cues:

    one from the first cue then three from the second.
    three from the first and one from the second.....
    one beat from four different cues....

    Still waiting for the advice on screen recording.
    Music is communication, as any other form of creation.
    SoundCloud
    MBP 13", Traktor Pro, Presonus Firebox, Numark Stealth, Akai MPD-18, Behringer speakers.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •