Recording (and being able to edit) mix actions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Recording (and being able to edit) mix actions

    Hi guys....I have an old copy of Traktor 3 on my mac that enables you to record your actions in order to put together a dj mix...so if you make a mistake you can go back and correct it. Unfortunately the bloody thing crashes all the time (it isnt compatible with newer macs)... so question: which DJ mix programme (for the Mac) enables you to do this... if there are a few about which is best? I know Ableton Live enables you to do this, but I find it a bit cumbersome to use personally...any others out there? cheers

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    467

    Default

    I've heard Mixmeister is pretty popular and easy to use for non-live mixes
    Dell XPS 15 1080p -|- Kontrol X1 -|- Kontrol F1 -|- Akai LPD8 -|- Audio 6 -|- Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5 -|- 2 * Reloop RP-4000 M3Ds

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Buffalo Ill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    210

    Default

    I know Ableton Live enables you to do this, but I find it a bit cumbersome to use personally...any others out there? cheers
    No.

    You need to practice more.

  4. #4
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Fair enough...so does anyone else have a view - should i try and stick with ableton live?

  5. #5
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Isn't that what the bridge's mixtape does with their certified mixer? Damn expensive though.

    If I really wanted to do this I'd just mix while recording until I screwed up at which point I restart the recording and start mixing from the previous track and then at the end just stick all the chunks of mix together in audacity.

    Scheatin tho bro.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor SherpaPsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Inner Shpongolia
    Posts
    223

    Default

    Mixmeister is the thing to use for non-live mixes, but you can't use it very well live. I don't know of any "live" DJ software that les you record your actions, though I wonder if there might be some way to record the midi - after all the sequencers of the old MS-DOS days were really just midi record and playback programs.
    17" MBP:2.66Ghz i7 8Gb| Traktor Pro 2|Live 8 Suite
    Novation Twitch & LaunchPad|M-Audio Oxygen 25
    Presonus FireStudio Mobile|Shure 315's|Yamaha HS50M's
    "“beatmatching” isnt even a fucking skill as far as im concered anyway. so what, you can count to 4. cool. i had that skill down when i was 3."-deadmau5

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    467

    Default

    As mentioned, Ableton does just that but it's not the easiest program to learn.
    Dell XPS 15 1080p -|- Kontrol X1 -|- Kontrol F1 -|- Akai LPD8 -|- Audio 6 -|- Traktor Scratch Pro 2.5 -|- 2 * Reloop RP-4000 M3Ds

  8. #8
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Why on earth was this function dropped in Traktor Pro?

    It was a seriously handy feature !

  9. #9
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Loads of crap was dropped between traktor 3 and traktor pro.

  10. #10
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    yeah big shame it was dropped....which versions of mixmeister have this function?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •