I never use my EQ knobs. Am I missing something?
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56
  1. #1

    Default I never use my EQ knobs. Am I missing something?

    As of right now, I use a Hercules RMX to DJ. Looking for a nice 4 channel midi mixer, but I don't have enough to drop on an S4 or DX. :/ I have the Scratch button on the RMX to toggle between using the eq knobs/ cutoffs for effects and EQ. But I've found that its almost always on. I never use Eq. I have 4 knobs on my lpd8 bound to the filters of all 4 decks. Thats what I use when I'm stacking songs or transitioning.

    Every mixer that I see has EQ knobs. Its seems like everyone uses them. Except me. Or am I just going crazy?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bronx, NY
    Posts
    136

    Default

    It all depends on your style of mixing, dont fret.
    MBP i5 13", NI Z2, 2x NI X1, 2x NI F1s, NI Audio 8, A&H K2, Rane 2016, 2x 1210MK2e, 2x CDJ-400s, RMX-1000, NI S8, MBA 11"

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,523

    Default

    It's a different mix approach, having band EQs is more versatile and precise IMO.

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    The vast majority of DJs do use them, but as the last guy said don't worry if not. A few times I've been mixing impromptu using just my X1 and Audio 2, and I just quickly remap the bottom 2 knobs to filters for each deck and it's perfectly functional. Not ideal for my style, but I can make it work.

    Remember, a filter is effectively similar to a set of EQ knobs anyway, many people who use EQs simply cut the bass on one track and then blend the 2, which can be achieved just as effectively with a high pass filter.

    They're a very useful tool to get your head around though, mastering every aspect of the tools on offer to you can only make you better
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    166

    Default

    I use my EQ's, but you don't. It's just a different mixing style. Different not wrong.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor CaptainMidnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Playa Del Rey
    Posts
    155

    Default

    I barley use the EQ either and when I do its just a little bit.

    I figure all the tracks I mix are already mastered, but I do isolate frequencies for certain blends.

    I should also note that I mix primarily Hip-Hop.
    Technics 1200 MK2s - Vestax PMC06 - NI Kontrol S2 - Traktor - Akai APC40 - Ableton Live 8

  7. #7
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    indeed, it also depends what genres you play.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  8. #8
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,204

    Default

    Hey, the original DJ mixers didn't have eq's, you had to buy an extra "eq" section for the old Urei's. Personally, I use EQ all the time but I usually mix very long transitions (2-3 minutes or more). For people who mix 8,16 or 32 bars, you're just fine with the line faders and using a filter is just an extra cool bonus that adds for control and subtlety.
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  9. #9
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,069

    Default

    depends on what you are playing...
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

  10. #10
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,069

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SirReal View Post
    Hey, the original DJ mixers didn't have eq's, you had to buy an extra "eq" section for the old Urei's. Personally, I use EQ all the time but I usually mix very long transitions (2-3 minutes or more). For people who mix 8,16 or 32 bars, you're just fine with the line faders and using a filter is just an extra cool bonus that adds for control and subtlety.
    a true DJ...letting the records speak for themselves...

    where have you gone Joe Dimaggio?
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •