Windows Partition/Virtual PC
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default Windows Partition/Virtual PC

    Ok so i have a Laptop the runs Windows 7. Never had any sound glitches, pops, crackles etc and the only time Traktor has crashed was when i used a usb HUB once.

    However, ive read about lots of people setting up a partition on their hard drive specifically for Traktor use and its got me spooked into thinking i need to do the same.

    I have ZERO technical capabilities where PC's are concerned so im really vervous of doing this so ive read about Windows Virtual PC which may be an easier and safer option.

    Dont really have any questions im just really looking for advice/pointers/a shoulder to cry on if any of this goes wrong!!! or should i just leave everything as it is and stop acting like a girl!!!

    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  2. #2
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    tbh, if the system is fine then you prob don't really need to do it. i did that in the dark days of TP1 when windows sucked at running traktor 'properly' (also my laptop is shit).
    now with TP2 it's kind of redundant

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  3. #3
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Its your fault im thinking of doing it!!!!

    If its good enough for Brad its good enough for me!!!
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  4. #4
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    lol. where is stoke on trent? might be able to come give a hand...

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  5. #5
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    HAHA about an hour further on from birmingham!! I cant believe you've never been. its a hot bed of commerce and activity!!! (its not. it was actually voted the worst place to live in the uk a few years ago but has recently moved to 12th worst).
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  6. #6
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    going up in the world

    just so you know, i removed the partition and went back to 1 boot when upgrading to TP2. partly cos i'd stripped it that much i couldn't activate it online as would need a reinstall of windows for networking to work - yes i went a bit far...

    now have 2 users in 1 boot, one for traktor - with shell hack - and one normal. this might be better way to go... shell hack is explained in that blog entry you found, or search 'streamline your pc' on djtt homepage

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

  7. #7
    Tech Guru kooper1980's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    2,291

    Default

    Cool I'll get some reading done. Sorry to be a pain man but doesn't a shell hack still use a partition? I really should get some reading done!!!
    MacBook Pro, HD25's, Midi-Fighter Classic, Pioneer DDJ-RX , Rekordbox

  8. #8
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    A virtual machine is a terrible idea. The whole point in having a partition is to increase performance but virtual machines put a lot of strain on your system and are unstable.

    Installing 2 OSs is easy providing you still have the windows installation disc. Just reformat everything, partition your hard drive into 2 little sections, install the os on each one and leave a huge section for all your files and crap. Then pick one and cut all the crap out and install traktor or whatever.

    I wouldn't do this unless you have done it before though, could be a real headache if you screw it up (though it is easy as pie).

    Also I'd install windows xp for use with traktor, it's much less bloated.

    P.S. anyone know where the hell I can get a clean windows xp disc these days? I swear they don't exist.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    Who remembers that book crap towns... The town I grew up in huntingdon in cambridge was like number 2 for a couple years
    *Samsung rv 511, 8gb ram, core i5 processor* *Samsung netbook 2gb ram* *Traktor pro 2* *Traktor s4* *midi fighter spectra* *audio technica ath-m50x* *m audio trigger finger pro* *ableton* *fl studio* and a load of other random bits and pieces.... plus I like bacon yo.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kooper1980 View Post
    Cool I'll get some reading done. Sorry to be a pain man but doesn't a shell hack still use a partition? I really should get some reading done!!!
    shell hack is done at a user level not at a system level. can be system, but the one blogged here (and i reblogged in my thing) does it at a user level

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    installing 2 OSs is easy providing you still have the windows installation disc. Just reformat everything, partition your hard drive into 2 little sections, install the os on each one and leave a huge section for all your files and crap. Then pick one and cut all the crap out and install traktor or whatever.
    you don't need to wipe it all first

    create the partition in disk management part of the mmc et voila. also the 7 & vista install disks have this option if you're feeling lazy...

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •