NYC DJ ready to get serious
    Tech Wizard

Default NYC DJ ready to get serious

I am DJ who lives in New York, but has no idea where to go to DJ house, or honestly where to listen to good stuff.

TheLast time I posted was because was about to DJ for the first time outside of the bedroom at a DEMF after party that we threw.

Now I'm back in New York and I want to keep things going but I don't know what to do next. I don't really know anyone who DJ's out here and I'm sure it exists in the city, but I don't know where or how to get it started. I'm a teacher, so I have summers off, and you can tell the kind of stuff I spin on my soundcloud

dude you live in NY,i am sure its easy to find clubs
    just go out and find events check event guides online etc...
    check out local bars etc... hand a mix cd over if they are looking for dj's

its not like your living in the outback
    your in the city that never sleeps.

Just go to shows. Go to shows. Go to shows.

Become a regular. Start networking with the people whom throw events (promoters).

Drop your demo, and just keep supporting their scene.
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter

Take the following for what it's worth. You may well have considered everything listed here but in case you haven't...

Really focus on clubs that play the music you like and you think you would be a fit for. You are far better off repeatedly targeting a handful of these places rather than trying to cast your net too wide.

Develop YOUR sound. Don't worry about what the next guy is playing. Play what feels good and gets you excited. Granted, if that's 201 BPM Ukranian Swinger Techno then you may want to tone it down enough to make it accessible.